Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I don't know how such a simple recipe can be soooo delicious, but it is!! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey, used chicken broth, and added some garlic granules. I also cut the water back to 6 cups to keep it thicker. I don't know if there's a difference between pearl barley and regular barley-but having used the regular before, I knew 1 cup was way too much-so I added only 1/4 of a cup. Perfect flavor-even without onion or celery which I feel has to be the base for any soup/stew. Very thick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is a delicious, versatile and very satisfying soup. I rarely use cabbage, but, in this instance, it actually "made the meal". A sprinkling of Parmesan cheese upon serving made it perfect (shredded cheddar, mjack or colby, or a slice of American melting in each bowl would go well, too). Beef cubes (or canned broth) will make this soup "heartier" than its chicken counterparts, but either will produce a great soup. Leftover cooked turkey or chicken can be substituted for the GROUND poultry. One of the things I REALLY like about making soups is that, if you actually think about it, "anything goes". And, in most instances, whatever you do, the end product will taste WONDERFUL! (reduce the liquid and call it a STEW)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
WOW! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef and added onion, mushrooms, and canned corn. Also added 2 tbl curry and some minced garlic. I didn't have any barley, but I will try it next time. Great hearty soup. This recipe was great left over and it freezes well too. This recipe will become a regular in our home, especially when it is cold out. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is really, really good. Before reading this receipe, I would have never thought to use ground turkey in a soup and I had never used barley in anything. Now I've made it twice, both times with chicken bouillon rather than beef (personal preference). I definitely recommend seasoning the ground turkey when you brown it. Also, I add chopped onion and celery to mine and when I add the barley, I also toss in some chopped zucchini. Hearty and can warm you up from the inside out! Will be making this again...very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake-ette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
We served this at church for a lenten meal and it way by far the favorite of everyone!!!! Excellent soup will make at home too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe however I did change a few things in order to watch my diet. I cooked my meatballs in the cooking spray instead of oil. Then instead of the 1 egg, I used the equivalent in egg whites. I instead of water I used beef broth and I didn't have any celery so I used green pepper. This is a great soup and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used the exact recipe and found it to be delicious. My niece loved it too. The following day it was still good, especially with a splash of sour cream on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I left out the cabbage and carrots, and added peas, extra potatoes, and 2 tablespoons of curry! definitely a different turkey soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Made a couple changes didn't have cabbage but had red bell pepper. The pepper gave the soup a real nice flavor. Cut down on the bullion cubs like suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 4 cans reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion (personal preference) and also added 1 can drained green beans, and ~1&1/2 cups each frozen corn and peas. Makes a ton, freezes well, and tastes delicious. Good old fashioned (healthy with the turkey!) vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States