Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Made a couple changes didn't have cabbage but had red bell pepper. The pepper gave the soup a real nice flavor. Cut down on the bullion cubs like suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 4 cans reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion (personal preference) and also added 1 can drained green beans, and ~1&1/2 cups each frozen corn and peas. Makes a ton, freezes well, and tastes delicious. Good old fashioned (healthy with the turkey!) vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I thought that beef broth with turkey might be weird, but it just wouldn't be as good any other way! I followed the recipe to a T,but I think next time I will add onion and mushrooms, because to me few soups are complete without them. Beyond that, I won't use boulion cubes again. It gave good flavor, but was WAY too salty for my taste. It cooked really fast for me. By the time the barley was cooked the veggies were over done. It was still fantastic. I will most deffinetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is quite good. I used chicken bouillion instead of beef, and used half a small head of red cabbage because thats what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Needed a little more flavor. I added onion, celery, and garlic. Also required a lot more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Delicious soup...I added mushrooms. Didn't have any barley, but I did put in a bay leaf while the soup simmered and added a little bit of butter. My husband liked it, so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
This was really good. I didn't use the complete amount of beef bouillon and it still was very tasty. We actually used very lean ground beef instead of the turkey and I think that helped add a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I substituted a vegetable based bouillon, rendering a surprisingly delicious pot of soup. Sadly, I forgot the barley and it didn't dawn on me until I was two bowls into it. Even so, this recipe really hit the spot on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe is just the thing for cold days! With turkey, barley, potatoes, carrots and an entire head of cabbage, this is an incredibly healthy meal. I imagine it can seem bland to someone used to spicy foods, but everyone in my family loved it, even the toddler. It is even better the next day. The barley does absorb the broth as it sits, but I don't see this as a problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This recipe needs FLAVOR! And less barley because it seems to take over the soup! I'll try this again but with more vegetables and less barley. Definetely more spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States