Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
If I were to name this soup, I would gave called it "ground turkey and cabbage soup".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Delicious. However, the barley needs the entire hour along with the vegetables - 15 minutes was definitely not long enough. I seasoned the meat while browning it, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This soup is fantastic. I've been making this for a couple of months now. The only reason I'm giving it four stars (not 5) is because I've made lots of additions based on other user recos. It's a great place to start. I use a total of 10 cups liquid - a couple cups water, 1 c. wine, and the rest chicken broth. I add 1 onion, 4 cloves garlic, 3-4 stalks of chopped celery, 1 TBS. curry powder and a bay leaf to the broth for flavor. I also add lots of veggies. I add 1 cup each frozen corn and peas, squash and yesterday I added sweet potato and butternut squash. The pearl barley makes it and absorbs a lot of water! It's very hearty and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I made a double batch of this as I have some pretty hungry people in this house. I didn't need double the water or bouillon and I didn't need as much potato or cabbage. I only made 1/2 cup of barley. I also put in a little bit of green beans that I had leftover. I seasoned my turkey with oregano, seasoned salt, and parsley. This recipe seems pretty adjustable and I really loved how it turned out. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe didn't call for anything very flavorful, so I added plenty of onion, garlic, celery, and curry powder. It was okay, but not a big hit. We didn't finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Loved this soup. Used Beef broth instead. Seasoned ground turkey with greek seasoning, oregano and basil. Yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I don't know how such a simple recipe can be soooo delicious, but it is!! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey, used chicken broth, and added some garlic granules. I also cut the water back to 6 cups to keep it thicker. I don't know if there's a difference between pearl barley and regular barley-but having used the regular before, I knew 1 cup was way too much-so I added only 1/4 of a cup. Perfect flavor-even without onion or celery which I feel has to be the base for any soup/stew. Very thick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is a delicious, versatile and very satisfying soup. I rarely use cabbage, but, in this instance, it actually "made the meal". A sprinkling of Parmesan cheese upon serving made it perfect (shredded cheddar, mjack or colby, or a slice of American melting in each bowl would go well, too). Beef cubes (or canned broth) will make this soup "heartier" than its chicken counterparts, but either will produce a great soup. Leftover cooked turkey or chicken can be substituted for the GROUND poultry. One of the things I REALLY like about making soups is that, if you actually think about it, "anything goes". And, in most instances, whatever you do, the end product will taste WONDERFUL! (reduce the liquid and call it a STEW)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
WOW! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef and added onion, mushrooms, and canned corn. Also added 2 tbl curry and some minced garlic. I didn't have any barley, but I will try it next time. Great hearty soup. This recipe was great left over and it freezes well too. This recipe will become a regular in our home, especially when it is cold out. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is really, really good. Before reading this receipe, I would have never thought to use ground turkey in a soup and I had never used barley in anything. Now I've made it twice, both times with chicken bouillon rather than beef (personal preference). I definitely recommend seasoning the ground turkey when you brown it. Also, I add chopped onion and celery to mine and when I add the barley, I also toss in some chopped zucchini. Hearty and can warm you up from the inside out! Will be making this again...very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake-ette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States