Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Can this recipe be made in a slow cooker? If so, any alterations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used this recipe as the "base" for my turkey soup... I added 1 cup of white wine, 2 cups water 8 cups chicken broth. I used a couple of large garlic cloves, basil, parsley and onion to taste. I added cubed potatoes and chopped carrots. I browned turkey with onion soup mix and added to soup mixture to simmer. I added 1 1/2 cups pearl barley to cook for 45 minutes. ( I didn't use fast cook barley) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The base for this recipe was nice, especially since I love turkey, and I love playing around with soups. I did make a lot of modifications though: I added 4 cups beef broth, 2.5 cups red wine, and 1 cup water. I added 1/2 tsp herbs d'provence (this is like a mix of rosemar, oregano, and some other herbs), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp chardonnay sea salt. I added 3 celery, about 1.5 cups quartered zucchini, 2 cups chopped green beans, 3-4 carrots, and 2 potatoes quartered - I kinda wing it on my measurements of veggies, the more the better. I then sauteed the turkey with garlic and a sprinkle of cayenne. And added the barley for the 15 minutes but it probably needed 20. I will be making this again, but my rating is for the soup with my modifications. If I had made the original recipe I probably would've given it 2.5/5 since it sounds bland/salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We all (5 of us) really liked this recipe! I didn't have any barley, so I used quinoa and added it about halfway through the cooking time. It takes a little longer than barley to cook, but it was so good! Also I only used half a cup of quinoa and that was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was good. I used chicken broth and added extra water. Reduced the amount of barley and added oregano and parsley. Still needed more flavor. The meat had some flavor since I browned it in garlic as some other reviewers suggested. Next time: More seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup is missing something. Its's not bad...but it's not good. It has potential. I haven't figured out what it is!!! Any suggestions from those who have made this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I tried this soup because I was looking for a soup recipe to use up some ground turkey, which my husband wouldn't eat. I thought he might not mind it in soup. It sounded a little too simple to be good but I made it as written. Having used barley before I assumed the 1 cup must mean already cooked barley which worked out great. I couldn't resist throwing in a bit of dried onion and a clove of garlic whole. I made it the night before and reheated it with dumplings. We finished up the leftovers tonight and my hubby said ,"you have to make this soup again! In thirty years he has never said that before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, but if I were you I'd add 10-11 cups of water instead of the 8 cups it says too. It just was really salty with only 8 cups. But other then that it was really easy to make and prep and not to foget sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great base recipes. I used 8 cups of chicken broth instead of water and the bouillon cube, added onions, garlic, and a bunch of spices (bay leaf, thyme, basil, rosemary, more garlic, salt). I seasoned the turkey with these as I cooked it as well. What really made this taste amazing was sprinkling a little shredded romano cheese on top - created a fantastic combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great base recipe for a yummy, comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States