Ground Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Terrrrific! Easy to make, tastes great. Took the advice of previous reviewers by adding onion and garlic. I substituted with low fat cheese and sour cream and our favorite spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. To avoid the dryness others mentioned, I tripled the amount of sauce to 24 oz and mixed the noodles with the meat/sauce before layering. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Good basic recipe but does need tweeking, with a few adjustments my husband loves it. Double the tomato sauce, add some salt and lots of pepper, saute some onion, peppers, and garlic with the ground turkey - so much better. I usually make it low fat by using low fat cream cheese, fat free sour cream, and fat free or low fat cheese, also ground turkey breast instead of regular ground turkey. Still delicious low fat ... really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This dish is DE-LISH!!! My 8-year olds are very picky eaters but they asked for seconds! (Now that's a first). I did take the reccommendations of other reviewers and mixed the noodles with the meat and used seasoned chopped tomatos instead of plain tomato sauce. I also seasoned the meat by adding pepper, garlic salt, oregano, cilantro, onions, and garlic. I also added frozen peas to add veggies to this quick, one-dish meal. My husband thought it was lasagna. I EVEN GOT A THUMBS UP FROM MY MOTHER-IN-LAW!!! I will definitely make this dish again. I can see this dish becoming a family favorite in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
very very dry even w/ the addition of 1/2 a can chopped tomatoes w/ juice - but this recipe does have potential w/ modifications. I would TRIPLE the tomatoe sauce if I made this again. I also would definitely recommend adding spices to the meat as it's cooking and some oregano when the sauce is added or this dish would be pretty bland, even w/ the sour cream and cream cheese. I used lowfat sour cream and nuefchatel (lowfat) cream cheese, which seemed to work fine for that layer, but DON'T use lowfat or fat free cheese on top, it just doesn't have the melting power and richness needed for a recipe like this (learned the hard way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
*******Use a jar of salsa***** instead of tomato sauce & mexican cheese instead of cheddar & you will be making this once a week! You do not need the entire 12oz bag of egg noodles, I use about 8 oz. Hubby & toddler LOVED this. Couldn't ask for a quicker delicous meal. MMM, MMM, MMM...THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
I used "lite" ingredients. Still tasted good. Rich and filling. Will make again but I will add more sauce or maybe a can of tomatoes. I thought it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I found this recipe to be very bland. Pehaps some onions or garlic might spice it up a bit or even spiced tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
The recipe was VERY good. My husband loved it. I did add a can of stewed tomatoes and chopped onions to the turkey after it browned. I wouldn't change anything else. This is a must for a pot luck or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I used ground beef instead of turkey because my family won't eat ground turkey. I also added some onions and used cream cheese with chives & onions. Very tasty~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Other than being slightly bland, I thought it was great. To keep the calories low, I used FF sour cream, cheddar cheese, and reduced fat cream cheese. My son loved it!! I'll be sure to make this again. Thank you and God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSYALUV1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States