Ground Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
got a couple of pints of ground cherries from my CSA and didn't know what to do with them. this recipe was enjoyed by the whole family. really delicious -- reminds me of a peach cobbler almost and it was very easy. i did follow another reviewer's advice and cut the brown sugar to 1/3 of a cup and it was perfect! Will definitely make again if I get some more ground cherries. thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good. I like them better in a pie than fresh. Easy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
WAY TOO SWEET! Got the ground cherries at the farmers market, they are delicious. I wanted a traditional recipe but the fruit is too sweet on its own for the amount of sugar in the recipe. I'll get more ground cherries if they have them next week but only for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
First time with Ground Cherries in my garden and this was a good start for finding a good recipe to work with, but I had problems with it. The sugar/sweetness wasn't a major concern, I'm sure the sugar levels for ground cherries vary like any other fruit, and you can use lemon juice and/or less sugar to adjust to your tastes, but 2 1/2 cups seems way to little fruit to fill a 9 inch pie. I ended up with a pie that looks half empty. Most 9inch pies use 4-6 cups of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I received some ground cherries in my CSA box and had no clue what to do with them. All Recipes to the rescue! This recipe was AMAZING!! I can't wait to get more ground cherries, so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
use 1/3 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizbeth25
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very Good. I have been needing a recipe to utilize the yield of my ground cherries. I cut the sugar back, made a pie crust with a criss-cross top, and added some lemon juice to give it some extra tartness. Makes an excellent presentation. I think the original crumb topping would be fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbeth25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
You should just add about the amount of sugar you like to this recipe. And it turns out great. You can make it as sweet as you want. It is delicious and I was eating a piece of it at work the other day and all the guys were like "wow" will you make me some of that? So I'm making two pies tonight. I've used this recipe multiple times so far. It turns out great every time but I do use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
too sweet, don't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela S. Leitzen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
A little too sweet for me, eating raw ground cherries as is was much more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States