Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was awesome!! I've been using the store bought seasoning for as long I've been cooking and I won't be buying that anymore. I didn't change a thing except using garlic powder as I didn't have dried "minced" on hand. It was the perfect mix of flavors. Not too spicy, even with the cayenne. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this using ground turkey and I went lighter on the salt. This was okay, not our favorite taco-seasoned meat but passable for nacho meat. After tasting it, I did add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Execellant mix of spices,better then the package stuff,really good taste.Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This tasted better than the taco package mix I usually use. I was skeptical wether my seven year old grandson would like this because of the red and cayenne peppers but he loved it. He liked that it was a bit spicy and so did I. I will definitely be making this again. Just an added comment: after the water evaporated I added some taco sauce and let it simmer down. It was even better than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by con114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Unadilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy + tasty = perfect when in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Made this when my son was home from college and it certainly passed the taste test! I will use this recipe from now on. Very easy to put together with ingredients I had in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
WAYYYYYYYYYYYYY too salty and too hot with the Cayanne Pepper. I would never, ever try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I normally do not like tacos. The seasoning is always old tasting. This was awesome with the fresh spices. The cayenne pepper gave it a little tiny kick it was perfect. My husband and his best friend ate ever last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashberry75

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was really yummy! I didn't have any corn starch or cayenne pepper and it still turned out good. Tasted much better than pre-packaged seasoning. My husband and 2yr. old ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was very good and nice to have this recipe on hand when I realized I didnt have a taco seasoning packet. For the "one star" review about the waaaaayyy too much salt. Dont use as much. Pretty simple. Problem solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States