Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious. I used puff pastry since that was what I had. I skipped the fresh fennel since I didn't have any, but look forward to trying that next time. 30 minutes was plenty of time. Overcooking it will make it hard, so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was excellent! My hubby is skeptical to new recipes, and he loved it! I didn't have fennel, so I cut it out. I also left out the bread crumbs. I just added a little more fennel seeds to the recipe to make up for the lack of fennel (just a dash), and it truly came out absolutely delicious! I will definitely make it again and add it to my personal recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My husband loved this! I didn't have fennel and so sauteed chopped celery along with the onion. I'm not sure if I misjudged the amount of beef I was using, but the crescent rolls weren't big enough to hold all of the meat mixture. But no problem - I made a few "meatballs" for my 3-year-old to dip in ketchup by putting the extra meat in a muffin pan to cook along with the beef wellington (and he ate it!). A hit all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this last night for my boyfriend, so simple and attractive. He said it was one of his favorite dishes he's ever had and he's picky. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My wife and I really enjoyed this. I had to tinker with the recipe a bit based on what was on hand, but it worked out great. I used fennel seeds, but didn't have any fennel, so I substituted with celery. Turned out fine, but I'm interested to try it with the fennel now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was a huge hit! My husband's family had their own version of Iron Chef and fennel was one of the ingredients we had to use. I made this recipe and it was voted #1... Will definitely make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious. The fennel gave the dish a wonderfully subtle flavor. I brushed the loafs with egg yolk and actually baked this in a convection toaster oven on a broiler rack and pan. I needed a little longer cooking time than the recipe called for, but an instant read thermometer helped determine when it was done. The loaves had beautiful golden brown crusts and the slices made a nice presentation on the plate. We enjoyed them the second day by reheating a loaf in the toaster oven. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaunathon
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since AllRecipes can re-calculate serving size, I made a test portion, and it was DELICIOUS!! I can't wait until the rest comes out of the oven. I put more red pepper than suggested, and it gave it the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was a truly delicious recipe - although a little heavy on the fennel. I changed this up a bit - I used 2 mini Crescent rolls to make small, single servings. If you prepare the entire pound of beef, you'll need 16 rolls total to create 8 mini Wellingtons, which are great for freezing for lunches, etc. I will certainly be enjoying this recipe with my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States