Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this last night for my boyfriend, so simple and attractive. He said it was one of his favorite dishes he's ever had and he's picky. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My wife and I really enjoyed this. I had to tinker with the recipe a bit based on what was on hand, but it worked out great. I used fennel seeds, but didn't have any fennel, so I substituted with celery. Turned out fine, but I'm interested to try it with the fennel now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe was excellent! My hubby is skeptical to new recipes, and he loved it! I didn't have fennel, so I cut it out. I also left out the bread crumbs. I just added a little more fennel seeds to the recipe to make up for the lack of fennel (just a dash), and it truly came out absolutely delicious! I will definitely make it again and add it to my personal recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I could not find my original recipe for ground beef wellington so I looked on here. I'm giving it 4 stars because I left out the fennel and red pepper flakes. Other than that it's just like my original which is a 5 star recipe to me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was good but it came up short of great. I really enjoy real beef wellington and I was hoping this would come close. It did not come close. This is a meat ball inside pastry. I'll save my pennies and have a real beef wellington next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
ok so i've got this in the oven right now and from what i can tell so far, it smells good and looks like a meatloaf wrapped in pastry. not complaining, but can someone post a picture of this? even if you didn't like it could you please post so i can see what it looks like? also, the description says "with a hint of chile..." where is the chile? is it supposed to be the tiny bit of red pepper? i can already tell it needs more kick to it. going to add some cajun sunshine hot pepper sauce to it in about 25 minutes. sauce is a really good chicken marinade too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was a huge hit! My husband's family had their own version of Iron Chef and fennel was one of the ingredients we had to use. I made this recipe and it was voted #1... Will definitely make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious. The fennel gave the dish a wonderfully subtle flavor. I brushed the loafs with egg yolk and actually baked this in a convection toaster oven on a broiler rack and pan. I needed a little longer cooking time than the recipe called for, but an instant read thermometer helped determine when it was done. The loaves had beautiful golden brown crusts and the slices made a nice presentation on the plate. We enjoyed them the second day by reheating a loaf in the toaster oven. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have mixed feelings about this. The bites with fennel/onion were good, but without it was very bland. I mixed it really good but still did not have a consistent flavor. If I try again I will either use less beef or more fennel/onion/garlic/crushed red pepper. I used the lower fat crescent rolls and they worked well. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaunathon
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since AllRecipes can re-calculate serving size, I made a test portion, and it was DELICIOUS!! I can't wait until the rest comes out of the oven. I put more red pepper than suggested, and it gave it the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States