Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this tonight for my family. It was awesome! I happened to have everything minus fennel in the house which made it even easier. Quickly picked up fennel from the store and after googling how to chop it, successfully whipped up the entree. WOW this was really, really good and super easy. Steamed some brocc and we had an amazing family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is an excellent dish! Robust yet light on the pallet. I would recommend it to anyone with a would like a light taste of fennel in a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shademaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Excellent!!! I also thought that this might be too much like meatloaf. Boy was I wrong! Even my 4 year old daughter adored it! I did tweak a few things. I caramelized the onion and fennel, I used one small onion and one bulb of fennel. I also used puff pastry, and baked on a broiler pan. My only complaint is that the recipe should have specified lean ground beef. Mine turned out to be a little greasy, even using the broiler pan. I will certainly be making this again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very Rich! I made the mistake of making 2 of them. One had to be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
delicious flavor! I made my own (pie) crust. I will make these again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
At first I thought this was just meatloaf wrapped with crescent rolls- but I was shocked at how extremely delicious it turned out to be! My 5 year old is THEE pickiest eater on the planet and absolutely loved this. By the way, I did not have fresh chopped fennel and substituted green onion for it instead- it still came out excellent. The crushed red pepper gives it that extra kick that makes this meal more than a meatloaf in crescent rolls, but it's not too spicy that little kids or people averse to hot foods wouldn't like it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
It was okay, nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by untwinedpower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I didnt have fresh fennel, so I added more fennel seed. My husband enjoyed it, but I did not care for it. next time i make it I will be sure to follow directions exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I am always looking for ways to be creative with ground beef. Not such an easy task sometime. I tried this recipe and my husband and I really loved it! I read the other reviews about too much fennel, so I cut back on the fresh fennel. Next time I won't...because we both really loved it when we got a bite of the fresh stuff. Next time, we'll add the suggested amount. It was very simple to make - the only thing we may do is maybe add a little celery of peas. Regardless, we WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
We had a little too much meat, so we made a patty and fried it up on the side as a burger to taste while the loaf baked. It's delicious, even without the fennel (which wasn't in stock at the grocery stores closest to us)! As stated, we had to leave out the fennel, but used more onion and garlic. Used 1/2 tsp. of the chili flakes, homemade bread crumbs (made from a variety of breads) and fresh parsley. I've seen a recipe on AR for traditional wellington that spread some liver pate on the inside, so I did that for this one. This came out a little moist on the bottom, but that's okay. It was a good recipe to use since I had pretty much everything on hand. Definitely saving this to make as burgers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States