Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
We had a little too much meat, so we made a patty and fried it up on the side as a burger to taste while the loaf baked. It's delicious, even without the fennel (which wasn't in stock at the grocery stores closest to us)! As stated, we had to leave out the fennel, but used more onion and garlic. Used 1/2 tsp. of the chili flakes, homemade bread crumbs (made from a variety of breads) and fresh parsley. I've seen a recipe on AR for traditional wellington that spread some liver pate on the inside, so I did that for this one. This came out a little moist on the bottom, but that's okay. It was a good recipe to use since I had pretty much everything on hand. Definitely saving this to make as burgers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Meat has an odd flavor - different but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This rocks! didn't have any fennel so used anise seed instead and still rocked. will be making again everyday for the next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was a truly delicious recipe - although a little heavy on the fennel. I changed this up a bit - I used 2 mini Crescent rolls to make small, single servings. If you prepare the entire pound of beef, you'll need 16 rolls total to create 8 mini Wellingtons, which are great for freezing for lunches, etc. I will certainly be enjoying this recipe with my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I left out the fennel, and used chopped celery, sage and worchestershire sauce instead. I would recommend using two packages of cresent rolls, and make smaller wellingtons. It turned out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious. I used puff pastry since that was what I had. I skipped the fresh fennel since I didn't have any, but look forward to trying that next time. 30 minutes was plenty of time. Overcooking it will make it hard, so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My husband loved this! I didn't have fennel and so sauteed chopped celery along with the onion. I'm not sure if I misjudged the amount of beef I was using, but the crescent rolls weren't big enough to hold all of the meat mixture. But no problem - I made a few "meatballs" for my 3-year-old to dip in ketchup by putting the extra meat in a muffin pan to cook along with the beef wellington (and he ate it!). A hit all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaunathon
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Since AllRecipes can re-calculate serving size, I made a test portion, and it was DELICIOUS!! I can't wait until the rest comes out of the oven. I put more red pepper than suggested, and it gave it the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have mixed feelings about this. The bites with fennel/onion were good, but without it was very bland. I mixed it really good but still did not have a consistent flavor. If I try again I will either use less beef or more fennel/onion/garlic/crushed red pepper. I used the lower fat crescent rolls and they worked well. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gertrude Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States