Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family really liked the flavors in the meat. I did not have enough time to cook the meat into small meatloaves, so I cooked this as a crumble in a skillet, then added some butter, flour and milk after the meat was cooked to make a gravy, and served it over 10 minute brown rice with a green vegetable. Very good and quick for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great recipe! Ok I always laugh at the reviewer who review a recipe and then change it in their review. But here I go. The market did not have fennel and my pantry was out of fennel seeds. I used a teaspoon of tarragon instead. To get some veggies into my husband's diet I added chopped 1/2 cup orange bell peppers, 1/4 thinly sliced celery and 5 chopped baby bell mushrooms to the onions and garlic mix. This was so yummy. Husband was happy and said this ranks high in his list. This recipe is very versatile, I think they are lots of ways to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was great. Easy meal the whole family will love. I really liked the fennel taste, although I didn't have any fresh, so I just chopped up extra seed. I was looking for a meal I could make with a bunch of left over ground beef I had used the day before to make tacos. So, my beef was already cooked, but it was still delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and my family thought it was plain. We tend to like highly seasoned dishes and a lot of asian flavors. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't have fennel so omitted it this time! Made potato crescent rolls, it was amazing!! Can't wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcalbert
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe was just ok, my boyfriend really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was really yummy! I didn't have fennel on hand so I used celery. And it was good. I went back for seconds.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
We really liked this. The filling is probably a 5, but I didn't like using the refrigerated dough. It will be a 5 next time when I made the dough fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I omitted the fennel and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Hadsel
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made mine with homemade biscuit dough and no fennel - wish I had some, but this was one of those days where I was searching for what the heck to do with the thawed ground beef in my fridge. Not very pretty! The hot beef immediately started melting the dough. But they taste good, so.. 3 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hadsel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States