Ground Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is my recipe; the recipe was changed just a bit when it became "kitchen approved". The original directions were to NOT drain the can of peas. But to drain and rinse the corn & green beans. Lastly add water as necessary as soup simmers. Here is the original personal recipe, thanks you-all: http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63106407/ground-beef-vegetable-soup/detail.aspx?prop31=2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Since this recipe received great reviews, I decided to double the recipe on the first try. I'm glad I did. First, I agree with what everyone said on adding more liquid. I added 2 cups of no sodium beef broth, and it wasn't enough (I didn't have any more room). My soup still came out like a stew. Didn't bother me because it was so tasty. I did some small changes to the original recipe: I sauteed the onions with the beef and substituted the peas & green beans with frozen edamame & frozen cauliflower (hubby doesn't like peas or green beans). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a really tasty soup! The only thing I added was some salt (to taste) and rather than canned peas/corn/beans I used frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very very good soup recipes. It took significantly longer for the carrots to get soft than the 5 minutes recommended. Next time I will sautéed onions with the beef, then add the celery and carrots to that mixture along with the crush tomatoes and tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This turned out so delicious! The only thing that I changed was that I added about a TBS of minced garlic and 1 Qt. of beef broth. I didn't have any peas and I used two spice mixtures that I love and use frequently- (Bragg Organic Sprinkle 24 herbs and spices seasoning and Kroger Zesty Seasoning Blend) about 2 tsp of each. Other than that, I followed the recipe that was given. We will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Amazing flavor the next day, we added sea salt pepper and garlic powder to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This vegetable stew is very easy and VERY good. I added a little salt, cumin and paprika to give it zip. Not much though. It makes a big pot that my kids finished off for lunch the next day. I will make this again. It takes longer than 20 minutes to prepare, plan on 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was a delicious soup! I added two bouillon cubes (Knorr brand) with hot water before I added it to the soup. It was more like a stew since it was so thick. I cut the recipe in half too. The hotter you want the soup, the more pepper you add. I will definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
When I make this I do use frozen okra, lima, kidney and butter beans and what makes this standard recipe so great is using the veggies you and your family like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States