Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I gave this 5 stars because I added one package of onion soup mix, a can of cream of mushroom soup, and two teaspoons of of Mrs. Dash seasoning. I omitted the can of tomatoes and doubled the potatoes. My college age son loved it. He even made of point of asking me how I made it! He never does that! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was easy and good, but I would add some more flavoring to it. We had to use hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe but as others I too made some changes. I omitted the tomato and made a gravy with the pan drippings from the ground beef....added peas instead of green beans....added 1/2 cup of panko bread crumbs to the ground beef. It was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabrera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverdale, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
My family simply can't get enough of this all inclusive meal. I add peas and a can of cream of mushroom to the ground beef mixture. It sure makes for an awesome gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Too bland and dry for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Excellent base recipe. Changed in the following way: Used fresh basil, allspice also tripled the mashed potatoes. Used combination of corn, carrots and beans - close to two cups for veggies. Also used romanos marinaRa sauce instead of tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
The flavor was good after adding a few teaspoons of curry and marjoram. It was extremely runny and oily and should be drained multiple times. They should of listed that in the recipe. I guess they felt it was common sense, but it is practical in a recipe to list all the steps involved in making a dish. Overall this dish was very tasty and good. But it does not "hold" together and is very oily so take that in consideration when deciding with dish to prepare it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Since my son won't eat tomatoes, I used a can of French onion soup instead. Next time I'll try cream of mushroom soup. I imagine any flavor soup would work. No potatoes in the house, so I used instant instead, adding only the egg to that. Also had no green beens in the house, so I used peas. Out of Cheddar too, so I used Colby Jack. This recipe allows for substitutes on all ingredients, and I like that in a recipe. You don't always have everything on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was pretty good! I forgot to add the tomatoes, but a splash of ketchup on top when served makes up for it. I added carrots, corn, broccoli, and mashed up quite a bit more potatoes. All because I only have a 3 quart casserole dish. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Not a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbiej

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States