Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It was a hit! I really liked that it bursting with amazing flavor. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was a very easy recipe, however I wished I would have read the other comments prior to making this dish. The dish was very bland, and it would have tasted better if the meat was spiced up prior to laying it out in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is a very good recipe, however, I added more garlic, Johnny's seasoning, cream of celery soup, mexican corn to the hamburger mixture.In the mashed potatoes, I used milk, and about 1/4 c. of margarine and omitted the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe is kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good recipe as is but switched it up a bit. After browning ground beef, onion and garlic, I added au jus beef base 2 T., green beans and creamed corn, no tomatoes or basil. Topped with cheese and then potatoes which I crisscrossed with a fork. Sprinkled with paprika and cayenne. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a great base recipe for Shepard's pie. I swapped some of the onion with chives and go with thyme and rosemary instead of basil which I think are all great compliments to the potatoes. Use any veggies you have on hand. -Add a half can of cream of mushroom and a couple tablespoons of sour cream to the beef right before it goes in the casserole dish for extra juicy meat and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I'm usually not a fan of Shepherds pie but my husband loves it so I decided to give it another chance. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and used corn instead of green beans to give it a bit more flavor. We both ended up loving it! This meal will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The recipe was good, but just was not great. Overall I was looking for more flavor, it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Followed recipe exactly except substituted corn for the green beans. It was mushy and bland. I'm a skilled cook, so I was quite surprised at how this turned out. Had to smother it in garlic salt & ceyenne pepper. There was 1/2 C of standing water in the bottom even tho I drained the corn & beef. If u try this, add lots of seasoning, make sure the layer of mashed potatoes is thin. And add some kind of thickener. Mine didn't even stand up & no matter how long i cooked it, wouldn't brown. I'm sure it could be improved upon if you're creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Family loved it...as others stated I added a few more spices (black pepper and onion powder) but not too much. Also added in more potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States