Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The recipe is fine, pretty traditional cottage pie. I like throwing in some paprika, sometimes thyme or rosemary as well. Don't like basil with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Love this! Ive never had shepherds pie and i actually like it! I did what other people did and added seasoned salt and garlic powder also i added butter to the mashed potatoes! But this is super easy to make and has great flavor, i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Came out good but needs more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I needed a fast recipe in a pinch to use some ground beef. I have two sick kids and wanted to give them a warm in your tummy, comfy meal. I just had a baby and was way too tired to think of what to make. Thanks for helping us have a yummy dinner :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is a good shepherd's pie and very easy to adjust to personal tastes. After reading various reviews, I adjusted as follows: omitted basil and tomatoes, added finely chopped celery, carrots, few dashes of Worcestershire to my meat mixture. Dusted w/ 3 Tbsp flour and added beef broth for a gravy. To the potatoes I added prepared horseradish to taste and used a cheddar w/ black pepper cheese (cracker barrel), dash of milk and 2 Tbsp butter. Omitted the water, kept the egg in. I have noticed in the past that adding an egg to your mashed potatoes helps them not to melt/disappear into the gravy/beef mix - also provides a nice browning. This gave the potatoes a little zip. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
For a more wild flavor, I substituted ground elk and venision, used sweet potatoes for the mashed, and blended goat cheese rather than the listed cheddar. It was a fantastic and robust country style shepherds pie, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Rintamaki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was so great and I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It was a hit! I really liked that it bursting with amazing flavor. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was a very easy recipe, however I wished I would have read the other comments prior to making this dish. The dish was very bland, and it would have tasted better if the meat was spiced up prior to laying it out in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States