Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot. I added stewed tomatoes, garlic powder, 3 gloves of minced garlic, green beans, and sliced carrots to mine. For the potatoes I added bacon bits, butter, and a little milk. I topped it with colby cheese. Delish! Thanks Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is a very good staring point to making the AMERICAN version of Sheppard Pie. It allows for your own personal touches. I gave it 4 stars ONLY because I prefer the traditional style of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is quick, easy, kid friendly, inexpensive & tasty as written. I love that. We have eaten this many times. What I also love is that you really can't mess it up. Just added things we like, and it gets better and better. I have made this again tonight, this time using hot Italian sausage with the ground beef, added corn, and using tomatoes with habanero peppers. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, some Worcester sauce, extra garlic, and mixed pepper jack cheese with my mashed potatoes this time. It's really good too. If you double everything, and put in the stuff your family likes, you can't go wrong. Thanks for this recipe. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was really great! I did put about 4-5 potatoes worth of mashed potatoes on top since we love mashed potatoes. I also used ground turkey since it was cheaper. I added a little beef base (can be found near the boullion cubes) to give it a beefy taste. It was demolished and people were milling around the stove scraping at the pan (yes, even the kids). Will make again real soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Based on other reviewers' comments, and my instincts, I doubled the amount of mashed potatoes. I also wanted to use a crockpot instead of the oven, so I added about a cup of broth with the meat and vegetables. It turned out well! Removed lid from crockpot for the last thirty minutes to let condensation evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My kids that dont eat anything loved this. They didn't pick out the veggies either. I followed the recipe exactly except I seasoned the potatoes with margarine salt and pepper. I also seasoned the meat with season all as it cooked. I added about a 1/2 cup more green beans and tomatoes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a very good recipe with some changes. I doubled the potatoes and made mashed potatoes with milk instead of water.I added butter,egg seasoned with salt & pepper.I also seasoned meat with salt, pepper and I added veggies and cream of mushroom. My husband loved it. I am sure I will make it again. - Raji
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I used ground beef with corn, peas, and the cheese on top. Excellent! The second time I was to late into the cooking process before I realized I'd run out of ground beef. The only thing I had left was ground venison. I thought "What the hell" and used that instead. It came out fabulous!! I highly recommend this wonderful little recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe! The only thing I did differently was I substituted Johnsonville bulk Italian sausage for the ground beef. Let me tell you..it really made a difference! My husband and I could not stop eating this one! SO good! Thanks Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! I had a large potatoe I needed to use and this recipe was delicious...reviews showed lots of delicious variations. Just had leftovers for lunch...Yum! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States