Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
One of the very best I have ever tried. Only tweaks I did was used 3 potatoes and used mixed frozen veggies which I thawed out first. The fresh tomato was a real nice touch - husband raved about it - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicawalla
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Pre-Mash your potatoes and pre-cook your ground beef. I didn't catch on to this tip until it was almost too late. Other than that, love the recipe! I substituted sweet potato and added more veggies (peas & corn). Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Absolutely dreadful. No flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Masterton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was good but I gave it four stars instead of five because it was bland. I recommend adding salt and pepper to the ground beef and potatoes for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As many have said, I wish I had looked at the reviews prior to making it. It was easy but very very bland. I will remember to drain off the fat next time as there was quite a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was okay. I added some corn and doubled the amount of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My mom use to make it. Another variable is pulled browned roast beef with can of mushroom soup added before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe was good. I used a packaged mix for the mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables for the green beans. My husband really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Tried it and loved it but of course added a few things extra....had alot of people to cook for so did one pound of ground beef and one pound of ground turkey browned the meats and added the chopped onion then added garlic salt pepper and dried parsley. To the meat I added green beans corn tomatoes and peas. Turned out delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe that great on it's own terms BUT is great with your personal add-tos. Thank you-Allrecipes & Ginger!!! Like many of the other reviewers, I also modified the recipe. My daughter had oral surgery n I needed to do/cook "soft" recipes. I remembered when she & her sister were children, they loved SP. I was hoping that my grandchildren would, too. So, I hit the books looking for a similar recipe to the one, i cooked about 27 years ago. Ginger's came close & was at hit. I added frozen corn & used a tub of ready made Bob Evans mashed potatoes. I only heated it once & spread it over the gr. Beef mixture. It browned well & I added the cheddar cheese. Oh my, they loved it! Next time will try the complete recipe. Thank you, Ginger from my little family, the Yorks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States