Ground Beef N Rice Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
LOVEDDD IT! Will forsure work this into my weekly rotation of food. I had alot of left over rice from another meal, i just used that, good use of left overs!! i used tomato mushroom sauce instead of plain tomato sauce, Instead of green pepper i used red. I didnt have Italian seasoning so i just added garlic powder, as well as the other seasonings listed. and i didnt have to drain any water like the recipe said, it totally evaporated on its own. It was fantastic tasting! A new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used Zattarans red beans and rice. It was great added to it. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonners

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eminence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. The only modification I made was to use a casserole dish instead of a pie pan - there was no way it would all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Reiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and my family loved it, including me! Start your rice before you do anything else. I didn't have any italian seasoning and I omitted the green peppers. I also added bay leaf to the rice water when I boiled it and paprika to the rice when it was done. I didn't have a lot of fat to drain off because I used ground turkey instead of beef and I cooked the beef crust in the oven while I was mixing the rice and stuff so that it wouldn't be too soft. It was REALLY easy to make and the pay off was great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
It Was Mentioned in an earlier review that the meat had the texture of raw meat.I added some cooking time to harden the meat to give it a more pleasing texture.(Doubled the time)I kept it covered with foil so it would not over cook the rice. This worked out very well. It was loved by my entire family and will now be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A slightly modified version of this was a HUGE hit with my kids and my wife (and me!) this evening. Here are the modifications I made: 1. My kids have a dairy allergy, so I used Daiya Soy Cheddar instead of real cheese 2. I had no tomato paste in the house, so I didn't use any. 3. After reading the other reviews, I pre-baked the crust for 15 minutes, and then baked with the rice mixture for another 10 (so the total time for that step was the same). I had *no* liquid to drain, so that must have done something positive (although, come to think of it I used home-ground beef which tends to be pretty lean, so that probably helped as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Pretty good!!! Very simple and tasted good. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and still good; I also follow one of the sugestions (cook the meet before you put it on the oven) Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was really good, my family enjoyed it. I did change it a little by browning the ground beef in a skillet, drain then add onions, and I did not use bread crumbs, so the "crust" wasn't so much of a crust as it was a layer, but it turned out fine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Onions came out crunchy...maybe saute them first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
4 stars for the concept. It's an adaptable recipe. Here's what I did: I used 3/4 of a package of taco seasoned ground turkey (packaged similar to a roll of sausage). I only had a small can of tomato sauce so supplemented with spaghetti sauce in the crust. For the filling I used a can of diced tomatoes, undrained (since I didn't have enough tomato sauce) and some frozen corn. Also chopped up some canned jalapenos for spice. I used brown rice cooked in a rice cooker. Over all, not bad, but I wish I would have baked the "crust" before adding the filling, because it was not very pie-like, more just mushy. Not bad. A good way to use up pantry and freezer items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States