Ground Beef N Rice Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
It Was Mentioned in an earlier review that the meat had the texture of raw meat.I added some cooking time to harden the meat to give it a more pleasing texture.(Doubled the time)I kept it covered with foil so it would not over cook the rice. This worked out very well. It was loved by my entire family and will now be a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and my family loved it, including me! Start your rice before you do anything else. I didn't have any italian seasoning and I omitted the green peppers. I also added bay leaf to the rice water when I boiled it and paprika to the rice when it was done. I didn't have a lot of fat to drain off because I used ground turkey instead of beef and I cooked the beef crust in the oven while I was mixing the rice and stuff so that it wouldn't be too soft. It was REALLY easy to make and the pay off was great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe turned out pretty good. My husband & son liked it, & they're very picky eaters. The only problem I found with it was that it produced alot of liquid, and I had to pour off the excess liquid several times while it was baking. I'll cut down on the amount of liquids the recipe calls for the next time I make it & see what happens. Even with that problem, I'd definitely make it again. Very quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Probably not going to make this one again. The texture of the meat mixture was like uncooked beef, and while my husband liked it, I could barely get down one serving. I think if I made this again, I would brown the meat first, before adding the sauce & other ingredients. I did make one change, using italian dressing instead of tomato sauce with the rice, just for variety, and that turned out quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was simple and good. I make casseroles on weekends, and dish them out into individual containers for meals at work throughout the week, and quick dinners on nights the hubby and I are busy. To servings of this, I added ahandful of frozen corn for me, and italian-style green beans sprayed with a little butter spray for my hubby (since we can never agree on vegetables.) I had the first for lunch today -- it nuked very nicely, and is just about the right moist spot between too dry and too soggy. If I hadn't married a corn-hater, I'd throw some corn in with the rice or meat next time... or maybe even give it it's own layer between them. I preferreded *not* precooking the beef it was much more of a cohesive crust that way... I had no problems with it cooking through. I added 10 minutes to the initial bake time, but the meat thermometer showed even the center was plenty cooked through. Texture of meat came out like a thin meatloaf. This is a perfect application for very lean ground meats, such as turkey, lean beef, or Buffalo -- the meat comes out nice and juicy, even if you cook extra long to be sure the meat cooks through, without any added any fat. I didn't have any tomato paste, so I left it out... didn't notice the difference. Fr diet reasons, I used 2% cheese in the rice, and half 2%, half full fat for the topping. Even though the recipe said "ungreased", I used a light spray of Pam, and was glad I did - especially with the lean meat -- the pyrex pie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was pretty darn good. I didn't even have tomato paste--just used the tomato sauce with the rice and cheese. I also divided the meat mixture into two pie pans, after reading the comments about liquid/meat texture issues. (I used super lean ground beef, so I didn't have a lot of fat to drain) I baked these for a little more than 30 minutes, maybe 40 or so. Meat was cooked and very tasty. The kids looked disparagingly at this dinner until they tried it, and then had seconds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe wasn't bad. I browned the ground beef before baking as other people suggested. It was not hot in the middle after baking as suggested so I would go a little longer next time. This is kind of a Spanish rice meets meatloaf type flavor. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. Inexpensive too! I left out the tomato paste and bread crumbs and cooked the meat first as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Too much rice. Too much of ZINGY taste. Kids didnt care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
it was ok. my rice came out sorta crunchy after it was done. so next time i'm gonna cook it b4 i lay it over the meat. i used Italian sausage also instead of hamburger meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States