Ground Beef N Rice Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was simple and good. I make casseroles on weekends, and dish them out into individual containers for meals at work throughout the week, and quick dinners on nights the hubby and I are busy. To servings of this, I added ahandful of frozen corn for me, and italian-style green beans sprayed with a little butter spray for my hubby (since we can never agree on vegetables.) I had the first for lunch today -- it nuked very nicely, and is just about the right moist spot between too dry and too soggy. If I hadn't married a corn-hater, I'd throw some corn in with the rice or meat next time... or maybe even give it it's own layer between them. I preferreded *not* precooking the beef it was much more of a cohesive crust that way... I had no problems with it cooking through. I added 10 minutes to the initial bake time, but the meat thermometer showed even the center was plenty cooked through. Texture of meat came out like a thin meatloaf. This is a perfect application for very lean ground meats, such as turkey, lean beef, or Buffalo -- the meat comes out nice and juicy, even if you cook extra long to be sure the meat cooks through, without any added any fat. I didn't have any tomato paste, so I left it out... didn't notice the difference. Fr diet reasons, I used 2% cheese in the rice, and half 2%, half full fat for the topping. Even though the recipe said "ungreased", I used a light spray of Pam, and was glad I did - especially with the lean meat -- the pyrex pie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
i made 2 of these pies, my kids loved it, it was a little bland for me, we don't usually eat leftovers, but we had a pie left & warmed it in the oven the next day for lunch-it was actually so much better the next day. easy & cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. Inexpensive too! I left out the tomato paste and bread crumbs and cooked the meat first as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was not bad. Doubled recipe to fit to a casserole pan. It worked well. I added a lot more cheese than recipe called for. It cooked much longer. Kids ate it. 4 stars for that. I think next time I'll just add Spanish rice in the middle instead. It would be a good way to use some leftovers. The more I think about it you could just about add anything into the middle. Mashed potatoes, garlic, and cheese really sounds good. Thanks for a good starter idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MROZINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was pretty good! I was a bit apprehensive because of the other reviews (the texture of the meat), so I baked the ground beef mixture for about 15 minutes before I put the rice on top. Then I covered and baked for an additional 50 minutes. The kids didn't really care for it, I think because it doesn't look very appetizing. The taste was actually very good, but it did need some additional seasoning for my taste. Definitely a recipe to build on though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrysNBoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this and it was okay. It was quite bland. I probably won't make it again, but for a suggestion I would try making it with your favorite jarred spaghetti sauce, instead of plain tomato sauce. It might zip it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I'm sorry to say I didn't care for this recipe. The bread crumbs gave the meat and odd taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Too much rice. Too much of ZINGY taste. Kids didnt care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and my family loved it, including me! Start your rice before you do anything else. I didn't have any italian seasoning and I omitted the green peppers. I also added bay leaf to the rice water when I boiled it and paprika to the rice when it was done. I didn't have a lot of fat to drain off because I used ground turkey instead of beef and I cooked the beef crust in the oven while I was mixing the rice and stuff so that it wouldn't be too soft. It was REALLY easy to make and the pay off was great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Pretty good!!! Very simple and tasted good. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and still good; I also follow one of the sugestions (cook the meet before you put it on the oven) Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States