Ground Beef N Rice Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I just made this for my family and there are mixed reviews!! Next time I will add salsa and a few more spices but I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I've used a similar recipe for years here at home. One thing that I've changed from the original is that I cook the ground beef "crust" until it's nearly done and drain off the grease before adding the rice filling. I also don't add any cheese to the rice, just put it all on top at the end of cooking where it does the most good;) It's also fun to vary this one using taco seasoning and adding a layer of refried beans between the meat and the rice. Top with minced green onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It was okay. Too bland for us, needs a kick of something. I had to cook it more than twice as long as directed to get the meat browned. There was enough for me to make 2 9inch pies. I might try adding chilis and more cheese next time, or forget the recipe all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was certainly something different for ground beef. I also browned the meat before adding the rice mixture. I thought tomato flavor was a bit overpowering. Be sure to use a deep dish pie pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a trial and to be honest, even if it is simple to do, it had no flavor, too dry and not very exciting, I do not recommand this dish especialy with kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used ground turkey and as suggested I browned it first. I had no oregano but I put a little more Italian seasoning. My family enjoyed it very much and said it's a keeper. The only thing I might change is to use tomato sauce in place of the tomato paste because the paste makes it a bit tart for my taste. This is a simple recipe and everything cooked up really nicely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I didn't have the green pepper; but I had everything else. My husband and kids liked it. So did I. I think if I had the pepper in it, it would taste just like my stuffed peppers after cooking on the stove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I found this to be a great base recipe. It tastes better once it has settled for a while. The variations of this recipe could be endless. Some leftover spaghetti would be a great topper in place of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay1922

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I liked this but need to make afew adjustments, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States