Ground Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is my first attempt at enchiladas, and wow what a fantastic recipe! I adjusted the recipe based on others reviews, I added a can of green chilies and omitted the jalepeno, a diced green pepper along with diced scallions, to the meat. I used reduced sodium taco seasoning, and 12 inch wheat tortillas, as well as low fat sour cream instead of yogurt. I was skeptical about the cream of chicken soup, but this is a must have ingredient. It adds a creamy flavor bomb to the cheese mixture, and it is one of those super secret ingredients that makes this dish fabulous instead of just good. I also used half mozzarella and half Mexican cheese blend shredded cheese. I dipped each tortilla in enchilada sauce before I stuffed them as well. Warning***wet tortillas are a bit messy and slippery! But it is worth it. I fit 6 into a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish that I sprayed with PAM, and dumped the rest of the enchilada sauce over the top. Added a few left over dollops of cheese soup mixture and topped with shredded cheddar. I cooked them for about 30 minutes but might let them go longer even next time. I served these with fresh chopped cilantro and diced roma tomatos sprinkled over the top. My end result resembled something from a high end fancy Mexican restaurant and the taste was out of this world! My husband couldn't stop raving about these! I think this is a great starter recipe, listen to the reviews and you have a recipe that will impress guests and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lljpence
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Yum! Super easy to make and super easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lljpence

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was great! Whole family loved it, even with the jalapenos. I used 1 reg onion and sour cream instead of yogurt and a ton of cheese. Next time I'll add some red pepper to the meat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Best enchiladas ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
these are awesome!! next time you want to try a new twist on Mexican, this is it. I used whole wheat tortillas, instead of corn, and added a small can of green enchilada sauce with the yogurt/cheese mixture. my family said they were the best ever. great job on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
these were pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good basic recipe. Used flour tortillas and sour cream. Also sprinkled the top with green onions and jalapenos. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used corn tortias they fell apart!!! Turned it in to lasagna tasted awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as directed, and it was fantastic. I really enjoyed how few ingredients were required, and I was impressed by how much flavor it had. Prep was about 15 minutes and cooking took 20. I had enough filling to make 10 tortilla shells, which was fine - now I can eat it longer! Next time I might use fat free varieties to ease up the calories (so I can eat more at once!), but it was great as written. So, now for the full disclosure: after trying it per the recipe we added salsa and avocado on top, and that made the dish go from fantastic to out-of-this-world delicious! If you want an easy to cook meal with excellent flavor - look no further. And feel free to experiment with other mexican inspired toppings. You really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I would have given this 5 stars but there were so many alterations. I took others advice and used sour cream instead of yogurt. Also I used half Mozzarella cheese and half Gouda cheese. I'm a huge fan of Gouda cheese and I needed some more cheese for this recipe anyway. I used chili peppers instead of chili's. I bought the chilly peppers by accident not really knowing there was a difference between that and regular chili's. I also added a little ketchup to the meat/taco seasoning mix and used regular onion. Everything came out fabulous! I served it to my 8 year old son and he absolutely raved about how good it was. He wants me to tell the whole family the recipe and wants me to teach it to his kids when he gets older and has some. LOL. I have to say that was the best review I'd ever heard. My son pretty much wants this enchilada encoded into his DNA he loves it so much. I will definitely make this again. If you want to follow my version just make sure to only use half Gouda. Too much Gouda might make this too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States