Ground Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good. Made it for the first time tonight, using the basic recipe. Really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is so easy. Perfect for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Ground Beef & Cabbage Haiku: "Needed some more oomph. The seasoning was lacking. But still a good dish." Did this recipe as written other than not chopping my cabbage too finely, along w/ adding a clove of garlic, but still felt that it could've used more spices. I think I prefer the AR recipes that are similar but have kielbasa instead of ground beef, or where the cabbage is sauteed in bacon grease simply for the dynamite flavor that they impart onto cabbage, but I'm still glad that I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this pretty much according to the recipe, but admit to adding a 2nd can of tomatoes and 4-5 cloves of minced garlic. I then served it on a bed of white rice. It was excellent, or I think maybe "satisfying" is a better word to use. This is comfort food. It's not what I would call restaurant quality and it's not going to win any cook-off contests, but it's damned good! When I make it again, I'll add some red pepper flakes, a bit of cayenne or some Louisiana Hot Sauce for a little extra heat. Thanks Graham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Added a little garlic, cumin, and sugar as suggested by others. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Oh, my goodness gracious. I was browsing stuffed cabbage recipes when I came across this. It fit the bill for simple and wholesome, and we were so pleased. The only change I made was using ground moose, since we don't eat hamburger. It was terrific over rice and left over on noodles. Will most assuredly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really hearty meal! Added a cup of salsa for a bit of kick and ate this over hapa rice. Sooo good! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
When I saw the ingredients to this recipe, I had to try it. My husband and I both enjoyed it. We both thought it needed "something" to add to the flavor. Maybe sausage or smoked sausage. Not sure. Even though there seemed to be something lacking, we both want to have it again. I may try the sausage next time. Maybe 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 sausage. I did cheat and brown the meat partially before adding so that I could control the amount of grease going into it. I also took the advice of those before me and added a can of stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This recipe, with my substitution of Johnsonville mild Italian sausage, rocked it! Not only was it delish, but it was fast and SUPER EASY!!! I did use two cans of diced tomatoes as others suggested. My kids rolled it up in a flour tortilla, but the hubs and I ate it from a bowl and knew the calories would be minimal without the carbs. Will I make this again? Absofreakinlutely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I went about this just a bit differently, I replaced the ground beef with Johnsonville fresh hot Italian sausage, which I removed from the casing. I browned the sausage and onion then added the Italian seasoning, 3 minced cloves of garlic, and my coarsely chopped cabbage. I cooked and stirred until the cabbage wilted then added the tomatoes and continued to cook until the tomatoes were heated through. I served this on a bed of wide egg noodles with a green salad and homemade biscuits. We like it, but the leftovers, which we had for lunch were really good. I believe the next time I will make it far enough in advance so I can refrigerate it to meld the flavors. Mr. Graham, I hope you like the liberties I took with your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States