Gritty Banana Mango Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WorldRoamer
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum! Hearty texture, not too sweet, not too banana-y. These could be served for breakfast, or in place of typical cornbread muffins at dinner time. Delicious with butter, of course! I used one cup fresh mango because I already had some on hand. For half the batch I tossed in 1/4 cup of cranberries and topped with sliced almonds. I loved the addition of almonds, but the cranberries made the flavors too confusing. I will be making this easy recipe again. ** Next time I will replace the couscous with quinoa so they'll be gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorldRoamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added sliced almonds and coconut flakes on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My roommate made this but left out the banana because we didn't have any on hand. I was ADDICTED. This is probably my new favorite muffin recipe--delightfully unique without being too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I was honestly expecting this recipe to flop, but it turned out great. I made it as a bread instead of muffins. I used half apple butter/half oil and added a tsp of cinnamon. Also used chopped fresh pear because I was out of dried mangoes. The exture is dense, moist, and anything but "gritty". This bread made great French toast the next day. I'll probably add some nuts next time. Thanks Rachel D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Surprisingly good! I was looking for a way to use up my dried mango that the kids wouldn't eat on its own and thought I'd give this a shot. These are moist and delicious. Not too sweet, but sweet enough to eat on their own. They'd be great with butter or jam. I used about 3/4 cup of dried mangoes, since I wanted to use all I had, followed the recipe completely other than that. Next time, I'll take the other reviewer's advice and use quinoa in place of the couscous for gluten free and a little extra protein. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Unusual and a bit unpleasant texture. The flavor was OK. They completely fell apart with "sandy" texture the next day. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Rather bland ,,,,the mango was chewy and did't help with flavour,iam afraid i won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I will not make this again, it has almost no flavor. I can't even taste the bananas and mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States