Gringo Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. My husband and I (both Mexican American) found it to be excellent. Not too spicy at all (I can't handle spicy!) We made it more authentic by serving sliced cabbage on top and lime juice (sounds gross, I know...just try it, it's soooo yum!) and tostadas with sour cream. This has become a go to dinner that lasts the two of us 2-3 days. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Maybe a little too spicy for this chilihead but what great flavors and how easy to make. This is a keeper that you can play with to suit your family flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I cooked on stove. I used more meat, one bell bc that's all I had & beef broth for the bouillon. I simmered for 30 & topped w green onion & cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It was wonderful. I did it on top of the stove instead of in a slow cooker. Garnished it with sour cream and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was really good. I made it exactly as written except I used more meat and 3 bouillon cubes. Served it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very good. I used both chicken and pork, as well as added the much needed cilantro to make it absolutely perfect! You can't have posole without cilantro, it's just not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duster87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
We thought this posole tasted great. I sprinkled the pork with black and red pepper before browning. I then sautéed the onion and garlic only and then threw everything (except the red and green peppers) in the slow cooker at the same time and cooked on high for about 4 hours. Since we like a medium level of spiciness I cut the red pepper to a 1/2 tsp. Then during the last hour of cooking I added the red and green bell pepper so they would not get mushy and would retain more color. It was very flavorful and just the right level of spiciness for us. We will definitely be making this again. Thanks Lisa for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
THIS DISH IS AWESOME, I COULDNT STOP EATING, VERY VERY TASTY. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Alfred, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good.. for the rotels, i used one can with chilis, one with habeneros b/c i like spicy! very good flavor... served it with sour cream and lime juice on top... will make again.. i hope to have some fresh cilantro to add for garnish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very flavorful. My hubby and I like spicy foods and this was certainly spicy! I think next time I might use one can of plain diced tomatoes with the one can of tomatoes w/ chilies. It was almost too spicy hot. But, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States