Gringo Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Fabulous! Easy and very tasty! Served with shredded cabbage and fresh lime juice. I also added a lot more pork. Simply delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made the recipe as it was, except I substituted beef broth for the water and boullion, and added salt to compensate. I also added cilantro and some shredded cheddar cheese at the end. It was great! The only thing I didn't like was that it was rather sour. Ironically, sour cream would have offset this well. Meat-eaters would also probably want to add a little more meat, but since I'm trying to cut back heavily on meat consumption, it was great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, but stayed pretty close. It was delicious and a great starting point, thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good.. for the rotels, i used one can with chilis, one with habeneros b/c i like spicy! very good flavor... served it with sour cream and lime juice on top... will make again.. i hope to have some fresh cilantro to add for garnish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very good. I used both chicken and pork, as well as added the much needed cilantro to make it absolutely perfect! You can't have posole without cilantro, it's just not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duster87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I used this recipe as a base. No measuring devices were used. Only sight and by taste. I thought this recipe was very basic and very easy to follow. We had shredded some left over BBQ chicken which worked and tasted fabulous. We topped off the posole with cilantro, crushed red peppers and sliced avocados. Tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very flavorful. My hubby and I like spicy foods and this was certainly spicy! I think next time I might use one can of plain diced tomatoes with the one can of tomatoes w/ chilies. It was almost too spicy hot. But, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
We thought this posole tasted great. I sprinkled the pork with black and red pepper before browning. I then sautéed the onion and garlic only and then threw everything (except the red and green peppers) in the slow cooker at the same time and cooked on high for about 4 hours. Since we like a medium level of spiciness I cut the red pepper to a 1/2 tsp. Then during the last hour of cooking I added the red and green bell pepper so they would not get mushy and would retain more color. It was very flavorful and just the right level of spiciness for us. We will definitely be making this again. Thanks Lisa for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Maybe a little too spicy for this chilihead but what great flavors and how easy to make. This is a keeper that you can play with to suit your family flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States