Grilled Zucchini and Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was quite good. I used 1 T. of olive oil instead of the frightful amount of butter called for and added a 4 oz. can of mushrooms. That really jazzed it up. The kids still wouldn't touch zucchini but hubby and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Delicious! I made a few changes - I let the zucchini grill on an open grill and did not put it into the foil. I like the grill marks on them. I also used cooking spray instead of the butter to save some fat and calories. Delicious! I actually prefer the yellow squash to the green squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This could be a five star recipe with just a few adjustments. Less butter is the main thing but adding sliced onions and cherry tomatoes make this an absolute super dish. I found the cooking time a little short 30 minutes is probably closer to what it needs even for a slightly crisper veggie. Dont forget to turn it regularly so the butter coats everything also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
We make these all the time. I could eat squash with every meal. Instead of the butter we use light olive oil. Also, we don't put the squash in foil, we cut them in thick slices and just stick them right on the grill. I find that the foil steams them too much and they become a bit soggy. I like my veggies to still have a crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I never use all that butter - it's way too much. I use I can't believe it's not butter spray. I add some fresh portabella mushrooms and some cherry tomatoes cut in half along with red onion cut into rings and a few dashes of italian seasoning. Also, the measurements for the salt and pepper may be a little off on here too. Just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is very good. Perfect in the summertime when grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a great base recipe, but next time I think I'll add more spices, to fit my own personal taste. However, after making it for dinner tonight, found out that my 3 year old LOVES Zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is okay (although too much butter) if you like steamed, mushy veggies on the grill. I think I'll stick with marinading (olive oil, balsamic vinegar and garlic) cutting veg in larger chunks, and placing directly on the grill for that wonderful smokey grilled flavor with tender-crisp doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Werley Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is one of the worst vegetable dishes that my family has ever had. After two bites we just couldn't eat anymore. Maybe our squash and zuchinni weren't ripe enough but just not enough seasoning or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EVEELANE
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a good base recipe but the amount of seasonings is too much. I cut down on the spices and added sliced onions and some whole cloves of garlic. The vegetables turn out softer than if grilled directly on the grate. I served this up with some baby back ribs and potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States