Grilled Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I just tried this a few weeks ago for the first time. Very good and very easy. I didn't peel the yams, scrubbed them good instead. I drizzeled with olive oil and then the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Loved them! I too put the sweet potatoes in the microwave for just 4 minutes to start the cooking process, then put them on the grill. Brushed with butter, then added a little Splenda brown sugar on top at the end to carmelize. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We're trying to be heart healthy, so instead of the salt, I added Garlic Powder, Paprika, Cayenne Pepper, and Chili Pepper to try to zest them up a bit. We skipped the butter. Tasted delicious (even without the butter and salt!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I liked it, except I cut the slices crosswise and dipped them in olive oil. Also since I like brown sugared sweet potatoes, I took about 6 or so of slices, put wrapped them in foil with some butter, brown sugar and ice cubes. I put the package on the grill until the sweet potato slices were soft. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
i was looking for a healthy grilled yam/sweet potato recipe & happened to find this new one. the taste is great however the texture on the dry side. keep an eye on the grill....my thick cut potatoes were starting to char after 6 ~ 7 minutes. thanks foxy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I modified this recipe by first steaming the yam slices for about 5 minutes and substituted the olive oil with a butter honey mixture and then sprinkled with cinnamon & sugar. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yum! I did burn about half of them because I wasn't paying close enough attention, so make sure you keep an eye on them! Super tasty. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was great. I only added butter for my guests. I try to watch added fat and just plain it was absolutely delicious. I did this in a grill pan and it worked perfectly on medium high heat. I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I took the other reviewers advice and pre-cooked these for a couple mins. in the microwave. I also added a little brown sugar to the oil olive to add some sweetness. All in all these were good... my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
10-12 minutes per side? Only if your fire is not hot. Pretty tasty, but as others have written, you better pay close attention or they will be burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States