Grilled Wild Duck Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
SO good! Make this recipe. I could not believe how amazing it tastes. I also did the ice/salt bath (which, btw, the guys at the butcher had never heard of) and grilled skin-side down for most of the time. DE-LISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I cook on a grill as hot as I can get it (500+) for a very short time dpending on the size of the duck breast. there is no substitute for a meat thermometer when you cook game birds. The grilled duck breast should be cooked to 130 degrees F and then removed from the grill to keep it from tasting gamey. It will look very red when cut and should run pinkish juice. You do not have to soak it in brine. I do half my ducks with this recipe and the other half using Soy instead of Worcestichire sauce. The rule with wild duck is to not overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Fantastic! This recipe is simple and delicious. I had been looking to do a little something different for dinner after getting a bit tired of chicken, pork, fish and beef most nights, and the duck breast was just the ticket! I also soaked the breasts in icy salt water for an hour per the suggestion of another reviewer, which was easy and they did not taste 'gamey' at all. Please note that since duck has thick/fatty skin that it did catch 'fire' and char on that side, BUT that did NOT affect the cook time. Next time, I'll grill the meat-side down first for 5 minutes and then grill the skin side for 3 minutes at most, to avoid the char. While the recipe was incredible by itself, I also served it with some Hoisin Sauce on the side to dip pieces into, which was fantastic. In China, they serve duck with scallions or chives, which would also taste good chopped over the finished duck. Thank you for sharing this recipe - we'll be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Yummy! Grilled up duck breasts from hunt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorri Goddard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! My boyfriends dad gave us a bunch of wild duck breasts and I had NO idea how to cook it. We marinated it overnight and cooked it on the barbeque the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tastes like steak and is even better wrapped in bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! Like other readers, we put the duck in a bath of ice water & salt and that definitely made the duck not gamey at all. This recipe was so great we made it two nights in a row. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My husband has recently taken up duck hunting & I've never liked duck before. The way my mom fixed it it always tasted like a mixture of rotting fish & mud. This recipe worked very well to eliminate that taste and I can actually say I enjoy duck now. Even my picky 4 year old liked it. I did do the salty ice water soak suggested in some of the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Amazing!! My husband and I hated duck before this recipe. My daughter (8yr.) loved it as well. We were all fighting over it at the dinner table. I did soak it in ice salt water for an hour, so I don't know if that helped with eliminating the game taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe. A tip for those who want to eliminate the "wild game" taste as much as possible is to soak the duck breasts in salted ice water for about an hour before using. I suggest about a Tablespoon of salt per quart. Make sure to use ice water as it will draw out blood. Then rinse the breasts thoroughly and quickly pat dry with paper towel before adding to the marinade. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States