Grilled Whole Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The reviews are perfect! We grilled a bird and the meat just fell off the bones. I have no idea why anyone would need to add liquid during the cooking process. We followed the recipe exactly and it was perfection. This was a trial run before Thanksgiving and we'll be doing it again on turkey day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akneale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Habra, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was super yummy. I used 1 can of stock, 1 cup of white wine and also added 1/4 cup of butter to the broth. This was a very moist bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was amazing. The meat literally fell off the bones! I used boxed chicken stock, chopped onions and garlic instead of powder, and added some fresh herbs I had on hand. Amazing! This was my first time cooking a whole turkey but I know it won't be my last. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have never grilled a turkey before and was realy worried it wouldnt work. But I wanted to keep my house cool so I tried it. It was amazing! I took the spices and rubbed them all over the turkey before I seared it - then I added an extra two cups of water to the pan when I put it in. The drippings mixed with the spices and turkey juice made the most decadant gravy!! My turkey was about 13 pounds but it finished in about 3 hours. The temp guage on my grill read a steady 400 the whole time. When I lifted the lid to check the turkey it had gently stewed in its own juices and spices! It fell apart - not a pretty turkey - but so moist and tender and flavorful - my ex-husband even commented on how wonderful it was and he is a man of few compliments! The kids raved about it - and the next day turkey sandwhiches too! I can't wait to try it again with a few chickens and play with the spices a bit too! We will be grilling our turkeys from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was the best turkey I have ever made! It cooked in only 3 hours and was a 15lb turkey, or a bit less, and though I added extra broth after reading the past reviews, it still burned up (still was moist and delicious!) maybe cooking over a lower heat for a longer time? Anyone tried this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I brined it the night before with some of the same seasonings - I wanted to make sure my turkey had a lot of flavor and was not dry (like every other turkey I've made). The turkey was super moist, even though it caught on fire while my husband was browning it because he wasn't paying attention! Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Turkey turned out pretty good. It definately helps to brine it the day before. The only thing is that the drumstick and wings can get a little dry. Also, I found that the drippings ended up burning up a bit. Otherwise the turkey was good and it did help free up space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have grilled our Thanksgiving turkey for the last three years and our bird will never go in the oven again. This recipe is great to get you started; I suggest stuffing the cavity with celery & onion and using salt and pepper to flavor the bird in addition to the other seasonings. I also loosely covered the breast for the first two hours of cooking to keep it moist and took the foil off for the last hour. I cooked a 15 pounder and it took about 3 1/2 hours on the grill. Let the bird sit for 30 minutes before you carve it and you will have meat that will knock your socks off! **Note that the layer of meat below the skin will be pink, some people think the meat is not done but it's what happens when you use the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My gas grill, at 350 degrees, was too warm for the "marinade" and burn it up in the first 35 minutes. I had squeezed some over the top prior, so still had some of the flavor. It seemed ~2 hours at 300 degrees for my 3lb breast roast would have been about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
It was wonderful having the oven free for other cooking. I'll be grilling my turkey from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States