Grilled Whole Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
The key to this perfect and simple recipe is to give the turkey an even sear. I was amazed at how moinst and tender it came out. When I tightly covered the turkey in foil I made one pass of foil completely around the roaster which made clean up a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midwest Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was great, since there were only three of us for Thanksgiving I bought a 6 lb. roasting hen, cut everything in half and it was fab. We basted it with some olive oil to get a real good browning of the skin, then cooked like directed, removed from the pan and seared the outside about three min again. Fell off the bone with tenderness and moistness. Husband and son want to do it again. We are on an RV traveling so cooking on the grill was necessary due to oven space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow, I can't wait for another (any) excuse to prepare another turkey this way. Best turkey I ever grilled. I used Monteral Chicken seasoning instead of poultry seasoning. Grilled covered for two hours (breast down) then removed the foil and turned the bird over which really finished it off nicely. Also I basted with the mixture about every 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was super! It freed up my oven so I could bake side dishes for Thanksgiving! Only thing I did not realise is the direct grilling part took over an hour. Plus the 3-4 hours in the pan on the grill. So I would figure it taking longer than the recipe says. Best turkey we ever made! We used a charcoal grill...tip we used is don't open the grill, just trust that its going well...every time you open a grill you loose 50 degrees!--which can add 15 min to cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
woke up fell out of bed tomy wife saying to me oven has failed us on the day of thanksgiving. Rolled down the stairs, tumbled outside lit up the grill and came back in and says never fear, turkey man is here!!!! Started this with about 30 coals on each side of bbq. added about 20 on the half hour, after 2 1/2 to 3 hours the bird was so tender and moist that it came off the grill, and the meat fell off the bone,,,excellent recipe!!!thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had two turkeys one year, and only one oven, so I fired up my hood BBQ and put the foil wrapped stuffed turkey on it. Did not make the bullion basting fluid, just wrapped in foil. We have never tasted a better turkey!!! Will do again as soon as I have the chance (enough eaters).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
we did this last yr except i forgot to thaw it. Did it anyhow but skipped the part about browning it on the outside. Took longer and didn't need to add extra water because it made water as it cooked. Was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daidakai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
At 63 years old, I've made quite a few turkeys! I agree that grilling is the best method I've ever used. The only thing I'd like to add is that a rotisserie makes it even better. My Weber has the rotisserie attachment, and believe me, spinning that bird over the charcoal fire makes the very best turkey you will ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TedM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've been grilling our holiday turkey for years, this is the BEST! Grilling advise, if your grill is 22 1/2" in diameter (Weber) you need 25 briquets on each side for first hour and need to add 8 to each side every hour during cooking. For a 26 3/4" grill you need 30 briquets the first hour and add 9 to each side every hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Help! I want to try this but I can't seem to find any information about how much charcoal to use and how often I would need to add more. I have a Weber Grill, and I already bought a turkey, I think it's about 13 lbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa3boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States