Grilled Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I tried this last night and we were delighted with it. We lived in Paris for 4 years and althought this is not authentic by any means it did satisfy the taste buds. My husband declared it a keeper. I prepared it in the oven but increased the oven temperature to 400 degrees and baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes to get the onion as soft as we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Yum! I had to use a chicken cube and leave off the cheese, but it was still really good. Easy to make too. I can see us using this recipe a lot during the coming months, and I think it'd be good in the oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This was absolutely delicious & so simple to make. I didn't change a thing. It's important to pour it all to a serving bowl immediately otherwise the cheese will stick to the foil. We added garlic onion croutons to the soup before serving. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
We followed the directions, but there wasn't hardly any broth. I'll stick to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was great, easy and really tasted like french onion soup! Used chablis as I had no sherry - I think red wine would work as well. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
My husband & I enjoyed this soup (without the sherry), except that we both found it a bit too salty. The next time I made it with 1/2 bouillon cubes & Walla Walla onions (Vidalia onions are not available for long here in Quebec); not as good as the 1st time. We look forward to next summer when I will try it again with 3/4 boullion cubes & Vidalia onions; also, we will try it again with Walla Walla onions to see if the onions also make a difference. This is such an easy & delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a family favorite when we go camping. With a salad, it is a meal in itself. My daughter is a vegetarian so, by substituting vegetable bouillon cubes, it is one thing we can grill that she will eat. I often leave out the ice cubes because I don't have them when camping - they aren't crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My roommate and I ate this all summer long. The only change was we added more ice cubes because we wanted more broth. It's so delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was wonderful!!! Best to eat in a bowl after grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Delicious! I baked these last night for dinner and everyone loved them, even our two teenagers. After reading the reviews I baked them at 400 for 1 hr. 15 min. and they were perfectly done. What a neat recipe... we plan to try them on the grill this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States