Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I really don't like deer. I had never even tried it until I married an avid hunter who likes to bring his game home. No matter how much I soaked the meat in salt water, buttermilk, etc etc I could never get over the gamey taste... until this recipe! It is FANTASTIC! I soaked the meat overnight in cider and in BBQ sauce all day. Half of it I used turkey bacon and the rest regular. (regular was better, turkey wasn't bad) It was delicious!! Be very careful not to overcook it or it will be tough and not as tasty. Thick sliced bacon isn't necessary. FINALLY, I have a way of making venison that we can both enjoy. Thank you! ***What's better then grilled venison wrapped in bacon? Adding a slice of onion and wrapping it up with the meat. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I'm giving it 5 stars because my ex-hubby said it was awesome! I tried it but I made a HUGE mistake....for some reason I had apple cider VINEGAR in my head when I made the venison! For future reference...do NOT make this using apple cider vinegar...not good :( I will definately try this again using apple cider!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Carlisle, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it appears here. It is one of the best venison tenderloin recipes I have seen. I made it one night as a main course and the next night as an appetizer. It reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made this recipe for my hunter husband, brother and family - there was not a bit left. At the end I deglased the pan with cider-YUM. Will be making this again this evening for the WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I am about to make this-- and i have read the comments, trying to improve my method of cooking this. Will update after tasting-- but just wanted to say-- recipe calls for Apple Cider. (PERIOD) Not apple cider VINEGAR! maybe that's some of your problem..... LOL or am I reading this wrong!??? Apple cider (as in, sweeeet, spicy apple juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAKKOJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was very good and I am not a big fan of venison. There was no gamey taste. My husband loved it and wants me to cook it for his friends. I used a hickory flavored barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Not for us! I like sweet flavors with some meats, such as pork and chicken, but the apple cider vinegar doesnt' belong with venison. We cooked some of our meat with seasonings/spices, and it was great. I followed this recipe to a "T" and couldn't eat it. It actually turned me off of venison for a while!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe is fantastic!!! I made it for my family and everyone just loved it. My husband, who is very picky, loved it as well and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent! Excellent! This was the first time I had ever cooked venison and this recipe made me look like an old pro! I would make NO changes except I used toothpicks that were all different colors... (the blue ones left blue holes in the meat- beware!) The flavor was wonderful!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States