Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is the best venison recipe I have found yet!!! I'v made it twice, maranaded the deer in apple juice overnight. Then in the morning, I put it in the bbq sauce. When we got home, I grilled them till the bacon was a little burnt. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe makes deer taste amazing. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. I have had more compliments on this recipe than anything else I have ever cooked. It is very simple, but still tastes amazing. Also, I agree with every other review, the two marinades make the meat very tender and get rid of almost all of the gamey flavor. Also, if you have thin long cuts of meat (from the processor), then wrap it in two strips of bacon to fully cover it and cook it for maybe half the time, if even that long. Amazing recipe, whoever came up with it deserves an award!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Love the recipe but I did marinated the venison in soy sauce, orange juice and garlic. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wonderful! Serve these to friend and make them about 1.5" square. Also use thinner bacon so it gets crispy, not chewy and fatty tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
HEy Girl!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for posting this recipe!!! YOUR recipe was off the charts, too bad the ratings don't go to a zillion..OMG This was such abig hit for our family!! My b/f's sister gave us what was in her freezer to make room for her hubby's season of game.. The backstrap was o tender & flavorful, one would of never nown it was even Vennison.. THis was a big hit with my b/f's home-made oven cheesy & garlic wtih onion potatoes with a peanut butter meltaway cake to follow for any occasion.. We shared this delicate game with my aunt & her boyfriend & this was truly a thanksgiving meal to remember. THanks again for posting & thanks to allrecipes.com for having this site for viewers like myself to refer to for favorite recipes.. YUMMERS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a great combination of flavors. It was simple and easy enough for even a beginner cook. Thanks for sharing! My 9-year-old would have DIED if he knew was eating venison. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3pickyeaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is by far, the best venison recipe I have ever tried. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing! I used backstrap, and made sure to cut the silver tendons lining the meat, i think that was crucial to the meat tenderness. I soaked the hunks in apple cider over night. I marinated them in sweet baby ray's bbq for a few hours. Wrapped them in thick sliced applewood smoked bacon. Grilled over charcoal, asbolutely amazing. Tasted like beef filet mignon wrapped in bacon. Did not taste gamey at all. A MUST keep for a hunter/hunting family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwife2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was amazing even my children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was absolutely the best venison I have made and have ever eaten. I have cooked a lot of venison in my day, and was getting bored of doing the same old recipes. I came across this one and WOW, my family loved it and said it was even better than steak. It was so easy to do, especially if you have extra time to marinate, the only thing I did different was marinate in the apple cider for over six hours. This is an excellent recipe and will be a definitive in my menu planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States