Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
We made these with elk backstrap, grilled outside, and everyone LOVED them, even those who usually wouldn't be adventurous eaters! So tender! I added onion chunks, lemon slices, and a splash of vegetable oil into the marinade, and let them sit all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cache, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were AMAZING! Never cooking backstraps another way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner... let me just say it was the best Thanksgiving dinner our entire family has ever had. And we had some pretty cruel skeptics when they found out we were having venison, and not turkey. No one remembered turkey existed after this meal. Amazing, thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was amazing and a very big hit!! We let the meat marinate in the cider from the night before we prepared it - it was like butter! So delicious & tender - we will definitely make this again. A great reason to go hunting again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
***** I followed the recipe except I sliced the back strap in 1 1/2 inch steaks, wrapped them in bacon and grilled for 5 min on each side (med rare) better than filet in no game taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Make this! Eat it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was an awesome addition to my "Deer and Beer" night for the guys. Also, as a note, I know a lot of folks use White Tail, especially if you're in Texas, but I used Axis. I like Axis soooo much more than White Tail, no gamey taste, more tender, etc... And Axis can be shot year round as they are considered exotics here in Texas. So, just FYI, for those that have a hard time serving venison to their family, for whatever reason, find some Axis and give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I've made this a number of times and always get the same response...They LOVE it! I've soaked the venison for 1 hour in apple cider and 24 hours in apple cider, always turns out perfect! Note: my kids aren't big game eaters, but now they love venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I am not a meat eater but my husband and son are! I made these for them and they couldn't stop raving about this. My husband says that the gamey flavor is gone and he was able to really enjoy the venison. I did everything the recipe said and it turned out perfectly. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a good recipe. The only thing I found was that some pieces had more of a vinegar taste than anything. It was still good but not sure that I would make it again right away. The company did like it though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Kahlyns Mommy~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States