Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We always have a freezer full of vension and we love this recipe. If you do not like the gamey taste of venison this marinade helps. Just remember to use Apple Cider NOT Apple Cider VINEGAR. I read many reviews and noticed a few people that gave this 1 star used apple cider vinegar. I also like adding a couple cloves of crushed garlic to the marinade. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honey Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Ctubsss
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just tried this recipe last night. It was my by first time cooking deer meat - and was actually the first deer I killed on my own!. My mom, dad and boyfriend went CRAZY over it. It was tender, full of flavor and melted in your mouth. I was short on time so I only left it in the apple cider for 1 hour and it still turned out great. There was hardly any left! I'd suggest this to anyone and will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
We had venison tenderloin. I marinated it for 2 nights in balsamic vinegar, soy, worchestershire, franks hot sauce, minced garlic, pepper flakes, and paprika. We grilled it on High for 3 minutes each side. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Just made them a few days ago and they were a huge hit in my house! An excellent change to the same-o fried venison steaks!!! I didn't have apple cider/juice so marinated in zesty italian dressing. Used Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce with a touch of brown sugar/Worcestershire sauce added. Too cold to grill and used suggestions in reviews to bake them. I like my bacon a little crispier but I have to say it just melted with the venison! Next time I'm going to try broiling them instead as someone suggested. TY for sharing this excellent recipe! It will be a regular in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great recipe made for a street party Huge hit even with people that thought they didnt like venison. My 4 yr old was mad because we left some there when we left threw a fit and wanted to take them home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spoon2eric
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
100% you gotta try! Check out the photo from 12/2012.. That's my version. You need to pick a bold BBQ or something not so sweet.. The BBQ will really jump out at you so don't make a mistake using a cheap $2 BBQ from Walmart go all out and get or make the perfect BBQ for these bad boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spoon2eric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was the first time I really enjoyed Venison. I followed the recipe until time to cook, we put it in our smoker instead of grilling. We used mesquite, it turned out fantastic! That marinade made a huge difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was pretty good for deer meat. I dont like deer meat but this is the only way I will eat it now if I have to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Technically, the backstrap is the "top loin" or "t-bone" (a porterhouse cut is the backstrap with the tenderloin attached). The tenderloin/filet mignon is under the spine, inside the body cavity, the backstrap is above the spine, outside the body cavity. STILL, it is an excellent, tender cut. Nice touch with cider!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've eaten venison all my life and this is the best way I've ever had. What a plus that it was so easy and had just a few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States