Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Tender and without any wild game taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My wife is not a big fan of venison but she loved this recipe. I always get rave reviews when I make this. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I absolutely HATE venison. I have cooked it a million ways to try to find a way I like it as we have I think 4 deer in our big freezer. (My family loves it...) I cooked this, and I loved it. I could barely tell it was venison and I made sure there weren't any leftovers! Thank you for giving me a delicious way to use up some of the venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The bacon was extremely necessary because the venison loin is very dry, being it's so lean. My husband was very apprehensive when I told him how I made it, but he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I only give it a 5 because all game flavor was gone. Some girls just like some game! Anyway, my husband and I don't have a grill (apartment living) so we broiled it instead. About 7 minutes on each side was enough to be pretty well done. I will use this again, although next time I will simply baste the meat with the BBQ before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had never cooked venison before and my husband and son are hunters.. but before my time. They got a deer this year so learning to cook it was a must! This recipe made me look like an expert! I handed the plate to my husband to be grilled and he said "made an aweful lot didn't you?" They ate the entire plate. The next day my husband told a friend it was the best venison he had ever tasted. MUST TRY THIS RECIPE! FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
bonapateet!! a must try people!!!!! i slightly changed it abit by marinating it overnite in the apple also trid 2 days,then marinated for 1 day in hickory,the smell is like a deep wet wood smell when wrapped in streky backon on the grill for quick searing, i placed in a yes gas oven for 8 minutes and rest for 3 still tender med-rear, i served with a red onion tartarn.. brown sugar at bootm of ramikin 1/2 round red onion wit buttered filo pasty pushed around it, place in oven wit tinfiol over it for 5mins take tinfiol off for 2 wonderful combo once u flip out the onion and used a cranberrie jus .. you have a wonderful recipe i change my opinion about venison .thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vio'z

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
A friend of ours gave us 1/2 a backstrap from his deer. We didn't tell our daughters it was venison, just said it was fillet minion wrapped in bacon. Each girl ate two big steaks! They never knew it was venison. If they did, they NEVER would have touched it. The look on their faces when we told them (after dinner) was priceless. We grilled 7 big steaks and only had one little guy left. I didn't have apple cider so I cut up an apple and threw it in the blender with some water and used that. Worked fine. I didn't marinade the meat in BBQ sauce. I just rubbed a little on each side after I put the bacon on. I used thick sliced bacon and it didn't cook well enough so next time I'll use regular bacon. very, very, delicious! I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I used the sirloin roast and cut it up into small chunks and marinated in apple cider like the recipe called for. I marinated half in Jack Daniels' Original BBQ sauce and the other I used Allegro Hickory Smoke Marinade. The meat marinated for 24 hours. I only wrapped the wet liquid smoke chunks in bacon because the bbq is thick that it makes it's own coating - just my preference. The meat w/ the BBQ sauce was good, but I really liked the one I marinated with the Allegro sauce...the smokey flavor was awesome. As for the gamey taste, it was very very subtle, you can't taste it at first, it comes towards the end. All in all, this is a great recipe and one I will keep forever. Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islantasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the best venison recipe I have ever had. So tender, and it does not taste like venison at all. We marinated the meat in the cider for over 4 hours and in the barbeque sauce for only 1.5 hours. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States