Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I wouldn't change a thing! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Tastes good, but the sweetness was a little strange. A good change of pace for folks who eat lots of venison I like my red meat garlicy, peppery and salty.Added a little liquid smoke, and used Sweet Baby Rays, which is pretty sweet for a BBQ sauce. The apple juice pretty much eliminated the gamey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
great recipe, apple juice does not take away the taste of the venison, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Amazing!! I made this recipe last week. I marinated the loins for 24 hrs. Then let the brown sugar, hickory smoked bbq sauce soak in the meat all day. I wrapped the in bacon and grilled using apple wood with charcoal on the grill. YUMMY! My boyfriend said it was the best venison he's had in his life.I am making it again tonight using steaks and raspberry chipotle bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent, excellent, excellent!! I made this tonight and all I can say is OMG its excellent!! I started it 2 days ago with the apple cider, then yesterday in the BBQ sauce, and grilled tonight. The only thing was that the bacon didn't crisp up as I had hoped it would but I didn't want to overcook the the cubes of meat. Thank for this GREAT recipe. We will be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
THANK YOU!!! My husband and I both agreed this is the BEST grilled venison steak I've ever fixed! I've often pounded our venison steaks flat, breaded and fried because I was never happy with them grilled but this was wonderful and we can't wait to make it for company! I had planned to follow the recipe exact but apple cider seems to be a seasonal item and not yet in our grocery stores so I ended up buying the instant spiced apple cider and used one pkt of that mixed with 6oz of water. I used KC Masterpiece Original for the bbq sauce then wrapped in thin sliced bacon and put them on metal skewers to grill. Awesome!!! I'm tempted to get some more steaks out of the freezer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used this recipe with goat backstrap. Previously, all five members of my family did not 'like' goat meat - however, they loved it cooked like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was amazing!! WE can't get enough of it, its one of the best venison recipes i have EVER tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Love this one, we used apple juice instead of cider and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Fantastic, couldn't even tell it was venison. I didn't have apple cider available, so I just used frozen apple juice concentrate and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States