Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is wonderful. Yum!! If I had more backstraps, I would make it again. I reccomend this recipe to everyone!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this to take to Thanksgiving dinner with friends and it was a huge hit! Will def be keeping this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I've used numerous recipes for venison over the years, and typically prefer to cook it all day in a crockpot....until now. This recipe was, by far, the best venison dish I've ever prepared. My girlfriend can't stand the taste of wild game....from dove breast to deer meat....this time she actually loved it and asked when I planned on cooking it again. The only thing I changed was the amount of time in marinating. I soaked the the chunks in the apple cider for 6 hours, then in the BBQ sauce for another 6 hours. Remember to have a couple glasses of water ready while cooking....the bacon causes flare-ups, so don't walk away from the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
thanks for sharing this recipe! the boys at my house are REALLY enjoying these (and even though I'm allergic to venison I have to admit that I've tried a piece or 2! they just smelled to good not to) I made them into about 1 inch pieces for more of an appetizer. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I followed this recipe almost exactly only I couldn't use a grill :( It was still great in a pan, but hopefully in the spring I can try it on a charcoal grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I wouldn't change a thing! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Tastes good, but the sweetness was a little strange. A good change of pace for folks who eat lots of venison I like my red meat garlicy, peppery and salty.Added a little liquid smoke, and used Sweet Baby Rays, which is pretty sweet for a BBQ sauce. The apple juice pretty much eliminated the gamey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
great recipe, apple juice does not take away the taste of the venison, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Amazing!! I made this recipe last week. I marinated the loins for 24 hrs. Then let the brown sugar, hickory smoked bbq sauce soak in the meat all day. I wrapped the in bacon and grilled using apple wood with charcoal on the grill. YUMMY! My boyfriend said it was the best venison he's had in his life.I am making it again tonight using steaks and raspberry chipotle bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent, excellent, excellent!! I made this tonight and all I can say is OMG its excellent!! I started it 2 days ago with the apple cider, then yesterday in the BBQ sauce, and grilled tonight. The only thing was that the bacon didn't crisp up as I had hoped it would but I didn't want to overcook the the cubes of meat. Thank for this GREAT recipe. We will be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States