Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by kat
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was so good! my yard smelled like a steakhouse while it was cooking! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I hate to give a review on something that i altered. I couldn't find apple cider so i used apple juice. i marinated the beef in the bbq over night. i also used deer cubes instead of a large backstrap cut up. and i didn't use the bacon. so is it still fair to give this 5 stars?lol.....my family loved it, we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Prepared this last night. I didn't have 2" thick pieces available, so I cut the 1" steaks into roughly 2x3" pieces and rolled them up before wrapping with the bacon. Grilled 6 minutes on high heat per side. 95% of the meat was rare to medium rare, resulting in melt in your mouth little morsels. EVERYONE agreed, BEST venison they had ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I have prepared this a couple times now and it's absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Ecklor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
If I could give this more stars, I would. This was fantastic. The meat had a sweet taste. I used Big Al's KC BBQ Sauce recipe for the sauce. Wonderful. I used 1/2 slice of bacon per because I find it easier to test the meat when it's cooking. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My first time cooking venison. I followed the advice of others and soaked in apple cider (apple juice) overnight. We used wood chips in the barbeque to give an added element of flavor. Be careful with flare-ups in the barbeque once the bacon fat starts melting. This was eaten by four people who had never eaten venison before and we were all nervous, but every one of us went back for seconds. TIP: You don't need nearly as much apple cider or barbeque sauce as the recipe shows... a cup or two of cider and half a bottle of barbeque sauce is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Holy this is wonderful!! I used my vacuum sealer and marinated each time for 1 hour. I used extra lean bacon. and my charcoal grill. Wow this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluedog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osterburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Awesome got a deer 3 days ago a made this for 9 adults and 4 kids awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This meal is amazing! It came out so tender and absolutely delicious! I use Bullseye BBQ sauce with Guiness; it is the best! Be careful not to overcook the venison (we did that the second time and it was really dry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Easy, great flavor-so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States