Grilled Venison Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
A+ recipe. There's not very many ways to grill venison but this one is worth it. I threw about 1/3 bottle of Italian dressing into 2/3 bottle of BBQ and the results were excellent. The oil in the dressing helps tenderize and enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Exactly as everyone says. Venison has never been a hit in my house. I cut a half backstrap into 12 small medallions. My wife cautiously took one, prepared to fill up entirely on green beans if she didn't like the deer. After eating one medallion she took two more, and then she went back for seconds, eating five total. I ate six myself, and I'm taking the one piece left over to the guy at work who gave us the backstrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe. Why is it folks feel the need to marinate in saltwater? yuk! Buttermilk, maybe, but it always seems to be in an effort to "get rid of the gamey taste". Well thats what makes it venison. If you don't like the gamey taste, cook a hamburger. I love this recipe, its easy, its simple, and if you like the taste of venison, this is how to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was just excellent. I am not a fan of venison and we had gotten a package of backstrap from our brother-in-law. I had to half the recipe because it was a small piece. I soaked it in the apple cider overnight and then in the barbeque sauce during the day. I did add a slice of onion before wrapping each piece in bacon. It was the best meat that I have ever eaten. Wish I had more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Didn't have a grill to use, so broiled the meat. Bacon was crisp and blackened, venison was flavorful and tender. My husband is picky, and he LOVED this! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was so simple and delicious. I couldn't get my charcoal grill going so I used the gas grill. It was still amazing! I would recommend this one to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
THIS MAKES MY TUMMY SOOOO HAPPY!!! what a wonderfull recipe. very simple and awesome. my whole family loved it. however, it's was nearing the end of summer and there were no backstrap left in the freezer. had the taste for some venison. i had a small roast but it was summer, i didn't want to have a roast in summer. so i used it to cut up for this recipe. and BAM! it was wonderfull. i did use a little tenderizer since it wasn't as tender a cut of meat. and after the apple cider soak, i sprinkled everything with some onion salt and garlic powder before soaking in barbeque sauce. I WAS AMAZED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
We enjoy the taste of venison that most people describe as "gamey" so I didn't marinate in the BBQ sauce. I just basted the meat before grilling and it came out beautifuly. Definately one of our favorite tenderloin recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe is frickin awesome i eat it with a fork ,i mean i cut it with a fork i tell everybody that eats deermeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My husband made this for our family. Usually not the family cook, he did a great job and it was delicious. I don't like Venison and I ended up eating three pieces. He used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bishop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States