Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Such a savory flavor! We used all fresh veggies instead of canned. My husband and I put the cut veggies with the oils in foil packs on our grill, also marinated chicken in balsamic with brown sugar and garlic and grilled that as well. Instead of the couscous we served it over cheese tortellini and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yum! This was tasty and healthy, I enjoyed it a lot. As written this recipe is lacking some flavor, but definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing Christopher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Admittedly I adore couscous and Balsamic vinegar, so I would probably like this recipe not matter what. But it has become a staple for us in the summer. I use a grill pan so I can just toss in whatever veggies I have around. We've used the vegetables in the recipe as well as mushrooms (white and portabello), yellow squash, left over edamame, etc. I just throw them into the grill pan starting with the ones I want to cook the most. I prefer onions quite wilted but other veggies I like crisp. Tossing with the tomatoes and vinegar makes "grilled vegetables AGAIN?" into something special. I also serve it over rice. Great, flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Ok to try, but probably won't make it part of the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Good recipe. I followed pretty closely with the exception of the eggplant (not a fan) and broad beans (which I didn't know where to find in the store). The couscous was delicious. I did feel like the dish needed something else so I added fresh grated Parmesan cheese. This was a healthy recipe! I plan to make it again maybe with risotto instead the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I only used the zuchinni for vegetables in this and used lima beans instead of broad beans. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this dish. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Good flavor, I think the individual veggies retained their flavors and the sauce still brought a nice addition to the mix. I personally don't care for couscous so I mixed it with the veggies to absorb the leftover liquids. I also only cooked the veggies in a frying pan for about 6-8 minutes (I think that might have been a little too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Bland. I suggest adding a lot of garlic or chopped olives, or something for flavor. Four stars because it's vegetarian and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very good! Made a few changes: added some garlic and dried basil to the veggies for some extra kick. Broiled veggies inside as it was cold out today. Then served on rice noodles...I'm gluten free, so that is always my substitute which was great. Also, topped with a light sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. My hubby's comment, "great recipe....would be better with chicken!" -of course! Will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I'm extremely liberal when it comes to following instructions, so usually recipes are more like 'inspiration' or 'starting points' for me. This was a great inspiration. I took veggies from my garden--long/slender eggplants, basque grilling peppers, summer squash, zucchini, and cherry tomatoes--and simply grilled them in a fry pan w/olive oil, sea salt and pepper. When tender, I added a tbsp or two of balsamic at the end and then poured atop the couscous. I reserved some veggies just to eat plain and they were delicious!!! I can see making half/half couscous and quinoa in the future to make it more healthy. Easy recipe to improvise/change to your liking. Great recipe for people like me that can't seem to follow strict instructions!!! Healthy, tasty, and beautiful on a large serving platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States