Grilled Vegetables in Balsamic Tomato Sauce with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious and easy to make! I grilled the veggies on a George Forman, added a little salt and pepper, and this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Loved the basic idea of this recipe but made a few changes. First I tossed the cut veggies in olive oil and kosher salt then grilled them over direct heat on a gas grill. While they grilled I simmered the diced tomatoes with a clove of chopped garlic, about a 1/4 of a tsp. of dried basil, 1/4 of a tsp of paprika, and about a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I didn't have any beans around so I skipped those. I also used whole wheat couscous. The result was fantastic! A great quick and healthy recipe I'm sure I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was pretty good with a few changes. First, I had to use chick peas instead of broad beans, and that actually worked out very well. That was strictly because I could not find broad/fava beans this time of year - I've never seen frozen ones and don't like canned, but love fresh. I also cooked the couscous according to package directions - bringing 1 cup vegetable stock, 1 tbsp olive oil (or butter) to a boil, stir in couscous, remove from heat, cover and let sit five minutes. Otherwise, this dish just needed about 3 cloves of garlic and some fresh oregano and basil for more flavor. It was kind of a pain, cooking all the vegetables - I only had a small grill pan, but that actually worked out well since the eggplant, zucchini and peppers/onions all needed various cooking times - I did them in batches, so it worked for me. My only other issue was I didn't seem to have enough sauce - I'll double the tomatoes if I make this again, and leave the vinegar as is. When I served it, the couscous was really dry underneath the vegetables - it would have been better if there was enough liquid to trickle down and flavor the couscous. Finally, I didn't, but someone mentioned adding goat cheese to this - THAT, along with more seasonings and increasing the sauce, would make this a total 5-star recipe in my book! Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
i changed this alot only just for time and convienence.i didn't hav eggplant or zucchini so used mushrooms and celery i fried all veg added broad beans from garden!i also added garlic and oregano and fresh basil these were a must.i enjoyed it served with potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Cannot taste any balsamic flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Definitely one of my favorites. I don't usually grill vegetables but this time I thought about trying something new and it was worth it. I was tired of eating the "normal" couscous recipe and this one met all of my expectations. It actually tastes better than it sounds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Easy and healthy Recipe! It could definitely use some kick, so next time I'll add garlic and some fresh herbs like basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Everyone in the family loved this one, especially our vegetarian daughter but the meat-eaters loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was light and healthy. It was definitely lacking garlic, which I added to the olive oil before the rest of the vegetables. While some complained that the balsamic was over-powering, I thought it could use even more than the recipe called for. I will try this again but with more garlic, onion, and experiment with other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe was only ok. I agree with the review that the veggies were overdone so the texture was mushy and the sauce was nothing special. Next time I'll try adding garlic and other spices for at least some kind of kick, as well as barely cooking the veggies so they retain their natural crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States