Grilled Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
It is imperative that the internal temperature of your turkey is 165° F – use a thermometer. If you don’t have a thermometer, the “juices” should run clear and the leg should “wiggle” freely!”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
We have also grilled our turkey for years. The night before we brine the turkey and the next morning my husband grills the turkey using a barrel type charcoal grill He puts the aluminum pan between the coals. We don't dare go back to roasted turkey in the oven as our family would be very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Have been grilling our turkey for years.... it frees the oven up for the vegetables and pies. Even when we have had snow at Thanksgiving,the grill is on the deck, right outside the kitchen, for use all winter. I recall one T-Day years back when we had to shovel around the grill to be able to cook! I do use white wine, however, instead of red, as the sulfites in red wine give me a migraine. That said, wine and turkey are a wonderful mix. I also use the wine in my turkey dressing. I'm glad to see this recipe featured and hope it encourages more cooks to try grilling their turkeys! A very hot grill sears the turkey and that keeps the meat moist. I also find that it cooks in far less time than a conventional oven. Our grill has a barrel lid and that also makes a huge difference. Lately we've been tossing in apple and/or cherry wood (small kindling wood) as well which gives another dimension of flavor. Soak the wood a bit in water first for smoking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been cooking turkeys on a Weber Grill for over 40 years and I have never cooked one over direct heat. Maybe I don't understand the method described here. I use indirect heat by placing the coals on each side of the bottom grate with the drip pan in between the coals. You can put anything you like in the drip pan including wine but use water at least to keep the turkey moist. Use any kind of wood chips you like including hickory or apple. Soak the chips in water for at least an hour then place them on the coals to give the turkey a smoked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Love it! This is the kind of recipe you want when your cooking for a large group. You can bake one Turkey while the other is out on the grill. Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cofey4u

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the best way to cook turkey!! I used a bottle of sparkling white wine and the gravy was amazing. Love love love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
After trying this the first time, I've never gone back to an oven again. faster, jucier and incredible crispy skin. My favorite way is yo put it straight in the grill with an aluminum pan under to catch the drippings for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bengina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe! I brined the turkey overnight, otherwise I followed the recipe. Some family members were skeptical about a grilled turkey, but the first bite wiped their skepticism away. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket aka MrsB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a HIT with family & my husbands airmen during the holidays of 2006!!! I've made it many times since then for our family sunday gatherings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Fantastic, juicy turkey, quite tender. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States