Grilled Tropical Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Tried this last night.I had bluefin tuna right off the fishing boat.Wasn't sure if I would like this marinade,but am really glad I tried it. It came out great.I did however make two small changes,I used crushed pineapple,because I didn't have preserves ,and because I don't like sesame oil,used regular olive oil.It was grilled to just rare and served over a salad with a light lime vinaigrette.I am sure this recipe will stay in my recipe box and used regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Probably one of the best pieces of marinated fish I've ever enjoyed! Tender, flaky and very tasty. I think it would also make a wonderful marinade for chicken or pork. I'll have to try it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a tasty,easy recipe!I used apricot preserves because that is what I had on hand.I had never heard of hoisen sauce,but that was easily found in my grocery store's ethnic food aisle.My husband really loves this recipe and my 16 y/o daughter, who is almost a strictly chicken and pasta eater,gave it the thumbs up!My other kids(19 & 13) ate it also, no complaints.We've made this twice. I think the first time we(I should say my hubby, he's the "grillmaster")overcooked it.The second time we kept a closer eye on the timing and it turned out perfect!We'll continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is the only way I make tuna steaks! excellent recipe, and I've even managed to impress people with it. even good in the middle of winter cooked on a frying pan instead of a grill. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Hubby got 20 lbs of yellowtail from his deep sea fishing trip. This was the first and best recipe we tried. Boil the remaining glaze and spread it on the cooked tuna. Serve over couscous and wow your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Husband and I loved this recipe. Flavorful and super easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Great! I used apricot-pineapple preserves bc that's what I had. The marinade is awesome - I used about 2/3 of it to marinate and saved 1/3 to glaze the fish after cooking. Also added a little chili oil, since we like heat - but the flavor is perfect as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because our guests said they're tuna steaks turned out perfectly. The one my husband and I shared was the one that fell apart on the grill. I think we'll try this again, and not marinate it so long. I've learned you're not supposed to marinate fish for a long time or it can make it tough. Anyway, the flavors in this dish were great! Worth a second try for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very nice! We're big tuna steak fans, so I decided to rescue this from my recipe box. The weather warmed up enough for us to grill outdoors, using cedar planks to add additional flavor. We used apricot preserves. I might cut the amount back next time, but all in all, this was a quick, easy dinner served alongside a tossed salad. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have to be honest here, after I mixed the ingredient together and put the tuna steaks in a ziploc bag, I went yuk, it looked terrible. But I grilled the tuna steaks after marinading the steaks for over an hour and all I can say is YUM! It was so good. My husband and my daughter's boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States