Grilled Tropical Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made this with Apricot-Pineapple preserves as that's all I could find at the store, and I increased the amount of fresh cilantro. I marinated the fish (a shark steak) for two hours, which was perfect for us. The shark had a super firm/ dense texture which I wasn't especially crazy about, but the flavors came together really well. I reserved a couple of Ts of marinade to pour over the cooked fish. Served it over soba noodles with sesame green beans. Not bad at all. Thanks, dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very nice! We're big tuna steak fans, so I decided to rescue this from my recipe box. The weather warmed up enough for us to grill outdoors, using cedar planks to add additional flavor. We used apricot preserves. I might cut the amount back next time, but all in all, this was a quick, easy dinner served alongside a tossed salad. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because our guests said they're tuna steaks turned out perfectly. The one my husband and I shared was the one that fell apart on the grill. I think we'll try this again, and not marinate it so long. I've learned you're not supposed to marinate fish for a long time or it can make it tough. Anyway, the flavors in this dish were great! Worth a second try for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Great! I used apricot-pineapple preserves bc that's what I had. The marinade is awesome - I used about 2/3 of it to marinate and saved 1/3 to glaze the fish after cooking. Also added a little chili oil, since we like heat - but the flavor is perfect as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Probably one of the best pieces of marinated fish I've ever enjoyed! Tender, flaky and very tasty. I think it would also make a wonderful marinade for chicken or pork. I'll have to try it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Tried this last night.I had bluefin tuna right off the fishing boat.Wasn't sure if I would like this marinade,but am really glad I tried it. It came out great.I did however make two small changes,I used crushed pineapple,because I didn't have preserves ,and because I don't like sesame oil,used regular olive oil.It was grilled to just rare and served over a salad with a light lime vinaigrette.I am sure this recipe will stay in my recipe box and used regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this recipe with a few changes to work with the ingredients that I had in my kitchen. I used apricot preserves, lemon instead of lime juice, olive oil instead of sesame and I didn't use fresh cilantro or ginger (I used spices from a jar). The marinade was very tasty. Unfortunately my fish turned out dry. I think I may have cooked it a little long? I also broiled the fish instead of grilling- that may have been a factor? Overall I think this is a good recipe- I'm unsure if I will try it again. My kids (ages 7, 4 & 1) weren't thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a tasty,easy recipe!I used apricot preserves because that is what I had on hand.I had never heard of hoisen sauce,but that was easily found in my grocery store's ethnic food aisle.My husband really loves this recipe and my 16 y/o daughter, who is almost a strictly chicken and pasta eater,gave it the thumbs up!My other kids(19 & 13) ate it also, no complaints.We've made this twice. I think the first time we(I should say my hubby, he's the "grillmaster")overcooked it.The second time we kept a closer eye on the timing and it turned out perfect!We'll continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States