Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always a big hit. The only change I make is to use garlic power rather than garlic salt. This is a super recipe - LOVE IT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Sorry but.....Waayyy too much salt as written. And we didn't really care for the herb-y flavor. Think we'll stick with our typical seasonings -- similar to this, but tons more garlic, and nothing "green".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
WAY TO SALTY.... I marinated my piece of tri-tip for 6 hours. OMG I was in shock how salty this ended up. I had to cut the edges of my meat of just to salvage of of my meat. Very disappointed. Im willing to try this again, just add a little salt and maybe garlic powder instead of garlic salt??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Used sirlon tip roast and all ingredients except dill (not my taste) and used 1t galic powder & 1/2t garlic salt...ohhh so yummy. Hubby grilled perfect. Kids loved it and we ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is A+. I like it so much I keep a mason jar full of the rub in my kitchen. I have even used it on Salmon. For my next trick I want to try marinating it in a vacuum sealed container. I have heard that allows the meat to absorb more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OS2MAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow!!! This was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The rub was good, but unfortunately, I did not taste much of it once the meat was cooked, even though I let it sit overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Can I just say, oh my goodness. This was delicious, mouth watering actually. What a great and easy recipe! Instead of using water, we dipped in soy sauce, we packed on the spices, one of the tri-tips we stuffed with garlic cloves. We only had to cook for about 1hr, about 30min on each side, browned it first for about 10min on all sides. Then moved both pieces to the center of the grill and turned the outside burners to low. The meat kept moist, even the next day. We will use this recipe again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justicesamsin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was great! I used garlic powder, instead of garlic salt, but kept everything else the same. It was so tender and very tasty. Next time, I may cut back on the salt even more since we try to watch our sodium intake. Can't wait until we get another tri-tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
After reading reviews, I wasn't too sure about it. We usually use a package marinade or the classic, a Santa Maria rub. We liked the flavor of this rub. Very tasty and perfect for tri-tip. I would not add the spice+salt combinations, I would just add the spice and keep the salt the same. I used Kosher salt. Also used celery seed. I wrapped the meat in saran wrap and kept in fridge for just 5 hours. My first time grilling and it came out nice and tasty(hubby's the grill master and I got an approval)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States