Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This has become one of my tried-and-true standbys when having people over for a casual dinner on beautiful Southern California cool evenings. It's always a hit (often served with parmesan baked red potatoes), and easy to prepare and cook. For best results it's important to use a true charcoal barbecue and sear over medium-high to high heat to get the outer portion of the meat carmelized and sear in juices. Then reduce oxygen to the barbecue to reduce fire heat for 10-15 minutes, then move coals to outside and place bread tin in middle of coal pit and fill with water. Then finish cooking on medium to medium-low heat, and let the meat thermometer tell you when it's done to medium rare 135 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This rub was great!! As other viewers, I omitted the garlic salt & used garlic powder. That is all I changed. I had a 2 1/4 lb roast. Roasted it in oven @ 425 degrees for 40 min; tented it, and it was moist and delicious. My tri-tips have never turned out this great and moist. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy, and salad. It is only me & hubby, so we will be having leftovers tonight, and if any left, will be making 'fajitas' tomorrow for lunch. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very juicy and tender! GREAT FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is amazing. We tried this a couple weeks ago and had some of our family over, we all got hooked. Even my little one loved it. I just stocked up the freezer with more tri-tip and we're having it again tonight. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wow this was delicious! I followed the directions perfectly and was surprised at how tasty it is! I was also surprised at how tender this typically tough piece of meat was. We took the leftovers and chopped them up, added some bbq sauce and made sandwiches the next day. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always a big hit. The only change I make is to use garlic power rather than garlic salt. This is a super recipe - LOVE IT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Sorry but.....Waayyy too much salt as written. And we didn't really care for the herb-y flavor. Think we'll stick with our typical seasonings -- similar to this, but tons more garlic, and nothing "green".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
WAY TO SALTY.... I marinated my piece of tri-tip for 6 hours. OMG I was in shock how salty this ended up. I had to cut the edges of my meat of just to salvage of of my meat. Very disappointed. Im willing to try this again, just add a little salt and maybe garlic powder instead of garlic salt??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Marie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Used sirlon tip roast and all ingredients except dill (not my taste) and used 1t galic powder & 1/2t garlic salt...ohhh so yummy. Hubby grilled perfect. Kids loved it and we ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is A+. I like it so much I keep a mason jar full of the rub in my kitchen. I have even used it on Salmon. For my next trick I want to try marinating it in a vacuum sealed container. I have heard that allows the meat to absorb more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OS2MAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States