Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I thought this was great and so did my picky husband. I didn't change a thing. On my 2nd tri-tip I did start making 'seasoning packets' in snack size resealable bags. It was just easier to measure 5 (or more) packets worth at once for future tri-tips. It is that good that one could eat it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
HERBS IN DRY WHITE WINE, WATER SMOKER Dissolved the herbs in 1/2 cup of sauvignon blanc, and marinated four hours in the refrigerator. Then cooked the tri-tip at 200 degrees in a water-pan electric smoker. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The flavor was good. Be careful not to overcook these. Mine were overdone at 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was awesome. My husband couldn't believe I made it all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
The rub mixture is nice except too much garlic for my tastes. I reduced from the 1-1/2 to 1 teaspoon. Did the rub, placed in plastic sealed bag and in the fridge for two days. Grilled at high heat 450 deg F for 5 min per side, flipped a couple times. Then into a low temp smoker at 200-225 F. My major criticism is the recipe does not indicated when the meat is done. I use a meat thermometer and call it done enough at 145-150 F. After resting this takes the meat to medium doneness. 140-145 is a little rarer. You've GOT TO KEEP A CLOSE EYE ON THE TEMP; tri tip is a little lean and over cooking is unfortunately easy to do and very unforgiving. I do like this rub; with a smoker the flavors enhance each other wonderfully. This will not produce a deep smoke flavor, but in this case, mild smoke seems to be perfect. It's not overbearing, but it's still there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was very good. I didn't have sage so I threw in poultry seasoning which contains sage. I used kosher salt as well. Took the tip from previous reviews I read and made it into fajitas the next night with black bean garlic sauce, Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Love the rub! Used only 1 teaspoon salt instead of 1 Tbsp. Highly recommend trying this recipe! Turned out perfectly cooked following the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is an excellent rub! The first time I made it exactly as the recipe and it was 5 stars, hands-down the best tri tip I've ever had (and I live in Central CA where Santa Maria Tri Tip reigns supreme!). The second time I made two changes: add 1 tbsp brown sugar and rub the tri tip very lightly with 1/8 tsp worcestershire sauce before applying the rub. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
HOLY MOLY! this is SO good! I used it on tri tip and steak and it works well with both. Triple the recipe and keep some on hand, you will be able to use it on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States