Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I'm gonna have to go ahead and give this one 5 stars...all of the seasonings mix together to create a ridiculously flavorful outside that permeates all the way through. Even after only a few short hours of putting the rub on, it is fantastic. One crucial thing I did add was 3 T of brown sugar...I MEAN! Perfection...I have always been a med rare girl at MOST but cooking this one to at least medium makes the flavor out of this world! One other note - we were working with 2 lb. piece and after 18 minutes at 450 it was Med Rare...the first time we cooked as said minus about 10 minutes or so and it was med/wed well...so....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Great Rub! I didn't add the celery salt or the dill weed only because I don't care for those two things. Everything else was great though. Make sure you do this the day before. I've done it just an hour before, but it's best when you do it the day before. Try this, you won't be sorry. Thanks so much Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic. I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe. Very easy and delicious. I usually like my 30 min meals but this is worth the cooking time. Perfect.. Keeping this one in my kitchen !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina-ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
You nailed it great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat McCune

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I thought this was great and so did my picky husband. I didn't change a thing. On my 2nd tri-tip I did start making 'seasoning packets' in snack size resealable bags. It was just easier to measure 5 (or more) packets worth at once for future tri-tips. It is that good that one could eat it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
HERBS IN DRY WHITE WINE, WATER SMOKER Dissolved the herbs in 1/2 cup of sauvignon blanc, and marinated four hours in the refrigerator. Then cooked the tri-tip at 200 degrees in a water-pan electric smoker. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The flavor was good. Be careful not to overcook these. Mine were overdone at 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was awesome. My husband couldn't believe I made it all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
The rub mixture is nice except too much garlic for my tastes. I reduced from the 1-1/2 to 1 teaspoon. Did the rub, placed in plastic sealed bag and in the fridge for two days. Grilled at high heat 450 deg F for 5 min per side, flipped a couple times. Then into a low temp smoker at 200-225 F. My major criticism is the recipe does not indicated when the meat is done. I use a meat thermometer and call it done enough at 145-150 F. After resting this takes the meat to medium doneness. 140-145 is a little rarer. You've GOT TO KEEP A CLOSE EYE ON THE TEMP; tri tip is a little lean and over cooking is unfortunately easy to do and very unforgiving. I do like this rub; with a smoker the flavors enhance each other wonderfully. This will not produce a deep smoke flavor, but in this case, mild smoke seems to be perfect. It's not overbearing, but it's still there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States