Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I live in Florida and could not find a tri-tip roast anywhere. I asked my local butcher, who was happy to cut one for me. He then asked if I was a California girl, because everyone he has ever had ask for a tri-tip roast was from California. Anyway, I made the roast tonight, in the oven as several reviewers mentioned. I cut the salt in half as others recommended and rubbed the meat first with just enough Worcestershire sauce to moisten it prior to applying the rub. I let it marinate overnight. My roast was just over 2 pounds and I cooked it in my convection oven at 425 for 25 minutes, then turned it down to 325 for another 23 minutes. I then let it stand, covered, for 15 minutes. I initially missed the comment about not covering it in the oven, so it was covered for the first 25 minutes, then uncovered for the last 23. It was done to medium-well, which is more done than I would have preferred, but still incredibly moist, juicy, tender and flavorful!! This is an excellent recipe and a rub that would work on almost any kind of meat. I look forward to trying it on the grill, as described, and also to trying it again in the oven, uncovered for the first part of cooking at the higher temperature. The meat was nicely browned as I did it, but a nice crisp seared skin would have been even better. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is phenomenal. The dogs were sad that the platter was licked clean before they got to it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!!! I am from the Central Coast of Caligornia where we all take our BBQ very seriously, and Santa Maria Style is always the way to go. I also love trying new things in the kitchen, so I was anxious to try this after reading all of the good reviews, and another local persons positive feedback. I followed thisgurlloves2cook's exact suggestion and it turned out perfect. I cut the salt in half and of course used Kosher. I only had time to let it rest for about 7 hours, and I can't wait to do it again and marinate it overnight. it was tender,juicy, and sooooo flavorful!!! Tri tip has forever changed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Ok the first time around....Awesome everytime afterwards it's all I can say. I discovered that Dill is not a flavor I care for and even my husband who loved it the first time, agrees that it is better without it.. The only complaint is that no matter the size, there is hardly any leftovers...grrrr!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Turned out great. My roast was smaller, only took about an hour +.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This rub is delicious! My mom now uses it every time she makes tri-tip for family gatherings. Best recipe for Trip tip I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Did this for Father's Day this year and it was fabulous! Followed the recipe exactly for the ingredients, but did the entire thing on the grill like a steak and it was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I'm gonna have to go ahead and give this one 5 stars...all of the seasonings mix together to create a ridiculously flavorful outside that permeates all the way through. Even after only a few short hours of putting the rub on, it is fantastic. One crucial thing I did add was 3 T of brown sugar...I MEAN! Perfection...I have always been a med rare girl at MOST but cooking this one to at least medium makes the flavor out of this world! One other note - we were working with 2 lb. piece and after 18 minutes at 450 it was Med Rare...the first time we cooked as said minus about 10 minutes or so and it was med/wed well...so....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Great Rub! I didn't add the celery salt or the dill weed only because I don't care for those two things. Everything else was great though. Make sure you do this the day before. I've done it just an hour before, but it's best when you do it the day before. Try this, you won't be sorry. Thanks so much Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic. I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe. Very easy and delicious. I usually like my 30 min meals but this is worth the cooking time. Perfect.. Keeping this one in my kitchen !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina-ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States