Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is unqualified the BEST piece of beef I have EVER eaten!!! I used fresh crushed garlic, and seared it on the stove then oven-roasted it, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone loved it! It was a bit salty, but no one added any seasoning to it when served, so... perfection! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Bravo!! This is the only way to go!Terrific! My roast was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I live in Florida and could not find a tri-tip roast anywhere. I asked my local butcher, who was happy to cut one for me. He then asked if I was a California girl, because everyone he has ever had ask for a tri-tip roast was from California. Anyway, I made the roast tonight, in the oven as several reviewers mentioned. I cut the salt in half as others recommended and rubbed the meat first with just enough Worcestershire sauce to moisten it prior to applying the rub. I let it marinate overnight. My roast was just over 2 pounds and I cooked it in my convection oven at 425 for 25 minutes, then turned it down to 325 for another 23 minutes. I then let it stand, covered, for 15 minutes. I initially missed the comment about not covering it in the oven, so it was covered for the first 25 minutes, then uncovered for the last 23. It was done to medium-well, which is more done than I would have preferred, but still incredibly moist, juicy, tender and flavorful!! This is an excellent recipe and a rub that would work on almost any kind of meat. I look forward to trying it on the grill, as described, and also to trying it again in the oven, uncovered for the first part of cooking at the higher temperature. The meat was nicely browned as I did it, but a nice crisp seared skin would have been even better. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is phenomenal. The dogs were sad that the platter was licked clean before they got to it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!!! I am from the Central Coast of Caligornia where we all take our BBQ very seriously, and Santa Maria Style is always the way to go. I also love trying new things in the kitchen, so I was anxious to try this after reading all of the good reviews, and another local persons positive feedback. I followed thisgurlloves2cook's exact suggestion and it turned out perfect. I cut the salt in half and of course used Kosher. I only had time to let it rest for about 7 hours, and I can't wait to do it again and marinate it overnight. it was tender,juicy, and sooooo flavorful!!! Tri tip has forever changed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Ok the first time around....Awesome everytime afterwards it's all I can say. I discovered that Dill is not a flavor I care for and even my husband who loved it the first time, agrees that it is better without it.. The only complaint is that no matter the size, there is hardly any leftovers...grrrr!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Turned out great. My roast was smaller, only took about an hour +.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This rub is delicious! My mom now uses it every time she makes tri-tip for family gatherings. Best recipe for Trip tip I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Did this for Father's Day this year and it was fabulous! Followed the recipe exactly for the ingredients, but did the entire thing on the grill like a steak and it was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States