Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was my first dry rub and everybody loved it. I did make a couple of changes, I read the other reviews and did cut out the salt and added 2TBS garlic powder, also increased the black pepper from 1/4 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon coarse black pepper, and I cooked it in a rotisserie. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This rub would have been 5 stars but it had way too much salt. I almost couldn't eat it because the salt was so strong. The cooking method worked great and the meat was very tender. I will make this again but only use half the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
THE BEST!!! I wish I could give this 10 stars, it was that good! I did leave the rub on for almost 24 hours and the only thing I changed was to use granulated garlic instead of garlic salt, which worked out fine because this is a salty rub. We even accidentally cooked this a bit too long and it was still superb. I ran to the store to buy another tri-tip while they were still on sale so that I could make this again--soon. I will never cook a tri-tip any other way, now. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The BEST rub, ever! I live on the central coast, where Santa Maria style BBQ is #1, and this recipe surpasses that in flavor, hands down! I used it several times for family BBQ's and everyone asks me what my secret is! I cut my salt down to 1/2 TBS and use only Kosher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious! I used a little less salt than the 1 TBSP and followed the cooking directions. Meat needed 30 min. at indirect to get to our desired taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Amazing. I tripled it and made three on the BBQ. Awesome. Very salty, so you may not want to use all of the rub... but I personally thought it was perfect. In a party of 7 with one vegetarian 2 3/4 of the tri-tip was gone by the end of the night (6 lbs!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good. I think the key here is the celery salt and rosemary...possibly the sage. I usually work in a little Worcestershire or steak sauce before applying the rub (for slight carmelization), then broil each side until browned, continue to roast at 370 until done (use a meat thermometer). Amazing results every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was delicious and our guests raved. The only criticism we had is that it did not serve as many as the recipe stated. There were 8 of us and there was just enough for us to eat sparingly. (Fortunately, we also grilled fish so everyone had enough to eat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandeen Gemanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is an excellent rub for tri tip! I did sub thyme for rosemary-didn't have on hand-and only refrigerated for 3 hours but it was very tasty & tender. I especially like the method given for grilling. I've never used indirect grilling and it is the perfect method for tri tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I first had a Tri Tip when I was visiting my sister in San Diego and have been searching for something close to make at home; I was delighted to find this recipe because it is fantastic! The rub is great, but I did make 2 small adjustments. I cut the salt in half (it was a little too salty the first time around) and I added 1/4 tsp of Oregano. I've made it several times for large groups and it is always a huge hit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States