Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I followed suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 tbsp brown sugar and let it "marinate" overnight (for almost 24 hours)after rubbing it on the beef. To be honest, I wouldn't recommend letting it rest that long, the herb flavor was good, but EXTREMELY strong. I still liked it but would have preferred it if the flavor were not so strong, but my husband wasn't wild about the strength of the flavor, and my 4 year old (who usually loves grilled beef) wouldn't eat it. My parents did like the flavor of the cold leftovers the next day. If I tried this again, I'd only leave it on for 4-6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Excellent roast, I followed suggestions to use garlic powder, upped the paprika, and cooked it low and slow at about 275 to 300 with Hickory chips. Yum. We felt that it should marinate longer, we only let it set overnight approx 23 hours, longer would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I cook tri-tip all the time. I've used lots of different marinades and rubs from all over. I made this for a 4th of July bbq yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. My husband is still talking about it today! In fact, it's 11 am right now and i can see him in the kitchen eating the few leftovers straight out of the fridge! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this for father's day recently for my boyfriend's family. We were heading up to the cottage so I had seasoned it the day before and it marinated for a good 30 hours. IT WAS DELICIOUS! My boyfriend and I were talking about how it tasted restaurant-quality. The only modification I made was using garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
so good - I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, I didn't get to let it sit because we had to eat and I didn't plan ahead BUT we will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe made me a rock star... thank you! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I rubbed down the meat, wrapped it in plastic wrap, placed it in a Ziplock (for a little extra protection), and let it chill in the fridge for 24 hours. I removed the tri-tip from the fridge about an hour before grilling. Then, I pounded the meat down with my fist (while it was still wrapped in plastic) before searing/cooking it as directed. I am AMAZED at how the rub flavored the meat all the way through. It was truly fantastic. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I was a bit nervous when I first mixed up the spices, as I didn't really care for the smell. But after cooking on the grill, this came out much better than I thought. A bit salty for my taste, so I might follow the suggestions of others and add some brown sugar when making again. Overall, a nice change from slapping BBQ sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Amazing flavor. This smelled soooo good on the grill. Our house smelled like a steakhouse! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
cut the garlic salt , up'd the black pepper, love the blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent choice for grilled tri tip roast. First time, I made the rub exactly as written. Second time, I corrected to 1 tsp salt and crushed celery seed instead of celery salt. Perfection! As other cooks recommended, moistened the meat with worchester sauce before the rub. Personal preferrence only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States