Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
The BEST! Even my 2 1/2 year-old ate this! A perfect blend of seasoning and flavor. We reduced the salt slightly and the seared on a Cuisenart grill and put in the oven on 375 degrees for 35 minutes, 10 minutes to rest...perfect and med-well! Will keep a container of this rub on hand for other cuts as well as tri-tip...maybe try it on a pork loin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Well, I certianly do not see what all the hype is about. This was just ok in my book. I listened to all the reviewers regarding the salt issue and reduced the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Personally I think it would have been better the way the recipe was written. I marinated it for about 24 hours. And I didn't think the flavor was all that spectacular. I am used to using FRESH herbs as opposed to dried. Maybe that's the reason we thought it lacked flavor. With all the comments about how flavorful this was I really had high hopes. It was just ok and I will keep looking for a better rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I would say this was excellent except there was way too much salt! I don't have garlic salt, just garlic powder, and it is still too salty. Bf agreed and we both think that this recipe is good enough to make again, without the salt at all. I think the celery salt will work for the salt, so I'd leave out the tablespoon of regular salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I followed suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 tbsp brown sugar and let it "marinate" overnight (for almost 24 hours)after rubbing it on the beef. To be honest, I wouldn't recommend letting it rest that long, the herb flavor was good, but EXTREMELY strong. I still liked it but would have preferred it if the flavor were not so strong, but my husband wasn't wild about the strength of the flavor, and my 4 year old (who usually loves grilled beef) wouldn't eat it. My parents did like the flavor of the cold leftovers the next day. If I tried this again, I'd only leave it on for 4-6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Excellent roast, I followed suggestions to use garlic powder, upped the paprika, and cooked it low and slow at about 275 to 300 with Hickory chips. Yum. We felt that it should marinate longer, we only let it set overnight approx 23 hours, longer would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I cook tri-tip all the time. I've used lots of different marinades and rubs from all over. I made this for a 4th of July bbq yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. My husband is still talking about it today! In fact, it's 11 am right now and i can see him in the kitchen eating the few leftovers straight out of the fridge! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this for father's day recently for my boyfriend's family. We were heading up to the cottage so I had seasoned it the day before and it marinated for a good 30 hours. IT WAS DELICIOUS! My boyfriend and I were talking about how it tasted restaurant-quality. The only modification I made was using garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
so good - I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, I didn't get to let it sit because we had to eat and I didn't plan ahead BUT we will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe made me a rock star... thank you! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I rubbed down the meat, wrapped it in plastic wrap, placed it in a Ziplock (for a little extra protection), and let it chill in the fridge for 24 hours. I removed the tri-tip from the fridge about an hour before grilling. Then, I pounded the meat down with my fist (while it was still wrapped in plastic) before searing/cooking it as directed. I am AMAZED at how the rub flavored the meat all the way through. It was truly fantastic. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I was a bit nervous when I first mixed up the spices, as I didn't really care for the smell. But after cooking on the grill, this came out much better than I thought. A bit salty for my taste, so I might follow the suggestions of others and add some brown sugar when making again. Overall, a nice change from slapping BBQ sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States